Thursday, September 29, 2011

Chronicles of the Mind

chroniclesofthemindgraphicChronicles of the Mind
From Griddly Games

About the game

Recall, Recount, and Relate!
Break the ice and get talking with this outrageous collection of conversation starters. Or find out how well you really know your family and friends. Share your story, slip in a few fibs, and see how many people you can bamboozle!

This handy deck is perfect for parties, road trips, school, camp, or just hanging out with your friends. There are 4 different ways to play: The Chronicler, Kit & Caboodle, the Gamble, or Bamboozle! It's never the same game twice!

My Thoughts

Are you looking for some ways to break the ice in your Bible study or party?   Well look no more because Chronicles of the Mind will come to your rescue!  

In this game, you will find over 119 topics you can definitively find some great ice breakers or conversation starters.    Anyone can play from young ones to the older generation.   It is definitively a game for a family reunion – Mmmmm!   there is one coming up in 2013 on my mother-in-law side.  Something to pack in our RV when we go!

There are four ways to play with this interesting game.  

In the Chronicler version you pick a card and you share a story based on the category.  

For the Kit n’ Caboodle one person picks a card and the rest of the people have to share a story.  

In the Gambler version of the game, each player received five cards.  Players can “exchange” some cards if they desire.  Then everyone have to share the stories in the categories they have in hand.

The Bamboozle game, you will pick a game and without telling anyone else you can decide to share a true or false story.   Then the other players have to guess if your story really happened or not with their voting cards.

What I particularly  like about this game is that four language are included on each cards – French, English, Spanish and German.   

To give you an idea of the categories included in this game, I will give you some of them…

  • Scar story
  • Happiest moment
  • Idea
  • Stuffed animal story
  • Fashion mistake
  • Favorite school subject

I also find that the quality of the cards are amazing.   The box is quite small and can be packed in a suitcase for a retreat or a trip on a place.

Be prepare to giggle, laugh, cry and even pee in your pants with all the fun you will have with this great ice breaker game.

Chronicles of the Mind can be found in the US and Canada.  Visit their Where to Buy page for more details.

In Ottawa, the game can be found at:

G Whillikers
3A-1910 St. Laurent Blvd
Ottawa, ON K1G 1A4
613.680.8002

Disclaimer: I received the product for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

DK Biography Harriet Tubman

9780756658069HDK Biography – Harriet Tubman
Published at DK Canada

Loaded with archival photographs and amazing facts, the DK Biography series introduces young readers to some of history's most interesting and influential characters. DK Biography: Harriet Tubman tells the story of the famous abolitionist, from her childhood as a slave on a Maryland plantation, to her dramatic escape, to her tireless work as an organizer of the Underground Railroad.

My Thoughts

This book is amazing to learn more on the “Moses” of the Underground Railroad.   You will learn quite a bit about Harriet Tubman and her ministry to save slaves.  I’ve heard about the underground railroad but never really read much about it.

So having this book was wonderful for me.

A few years ago, while visiting a museum in Rochester, NY, we came across a wooden box and some explanation about it.   That box was used to bring a slave to safety.  This slave was Henry Brown.   I had the book about this story so I asked the kids to climb in the box for a photo shot.  

2009_07_07_13_04_042009_07_07_13_04_08

However, reading about Harriet Tubman, I discovered that the Underground Railroad had ramifications in Canada more specifically in Ontario.   Now I am very interested in bringing my family to visit the places mentioned in this book and see places where Harriet Tubman has been.

This is definitively a great book to have to discover more about the history of the Underground Railroad and Harriet Tubman herself.  It is packed with pictures and anecdotes from her life as a slave and afterwards.    The research done to put this book together can be felt through the pages of it.   It is well written and put together.   A great book for anyone wanting to know more about the life of Harriet Tubman.

The DK Biography Harriet Tubman is available at  your favourite bookstore, even amazon.ca.

Disclaimer: I received the product for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

365 Project–Day 267

IMG_1400

Raising a Daughter After God’s Own Heart

It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old...or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book!

You never know when I might play a wild card on you!


Today's Wild Card author is:


and the book:


Raising a Daughter After God's Own Heart

Harvest House Publishers (September 1, 2011)

***Special thanks to Karri | Marketing Assistant of Harvest House Publishers for sending me a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Elizabeth George, whose books have sold more than 6.5 million copies, is the author of A Woman After God’s Own Heart® (more than 1 million copies sold) and Breaking the Worry Habit Forever! She’s also a popular speaker at Christian women’s events. Elizabeth and her husband, Jim, are parents and grandparents, and have been active in ministry for more than 30 years.

Visit the author's website.

SHORT BOOK DESCRIPTION:




Elizabeth George, bestselling author and mother of two daughters, provides biblical insight and guidance for every mom who wants to lead their daughter to a godly life through example, study, and prayer. Elizabeth includes questions to draw moms and daughter closer as together they pursue spiritual priorities and God’s heart.







Product Details:

List Price: $12.99
Paperback: 208 pages
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers (September 1, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0736917721
ISBN-13: 978-0736917728

My Thoughts

After having three boys, the Lord has blessed us with a little girl back in 2007.   Our girl will turn four years old this coming December and I want her to become a young woman who loves the Lord with every fibers of her personality.   She is quite determined since a very young age and she can be stubborn at times.   I pray that I will be able to guide her to become the woman that God intends her to be.   And thanks to Elizabeth George, I have guidelines to help me.  

With this book, I am learning to become a bell sheep, a prayer warrior, a sower of seed, a coach, a church lady, a social secretary, a teacher by modeling and mentoring, a homebuilder, a cheerleader, a shepherd and a marathon runner.  Actually, the more I am in this book the more I can see that these specific roles can also be applied for my sons (but that’s a different story).    I was reminded of the importance of my role as a mom to shape her and guide her through life.   The foundation that I am laying is very important.    I got reminded that praying for her on a regular basis was essential at all times.

I want to become the best mom I can be for my daughter.   She is our last child and we are not planning to have more.   Part of me is torn inside because I wish she could have a sister.   So I am thinking that having mentors for her would be great when she is older.   In the meantime, I will do my best with God’s guidance to raise her to love Him with all her heart, mind and soul.    She is precious to me and I know that she is even more precious to Him.


AND NOW...THE FIRST CHAPTER:


The Bell Sheep

Part 1 — Earning Your Bell

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.
And these words which I command you today
shall be in your heart.

— Deuteronomy 6:5





On a recent Christmas Sunday, my husband, Jim, and I and our family of 14 arrived at a church service extra early to make sure we didn’t end up in the “Standing Room Only” section for this special occasion. With my bulletin in hand and several minutes to spare before the service started, I opened my Bible and looked up the Scripture passage the pastor would focus on during his message. Then I read through some additional teaching notes and commentary in the margin of my Bible. One article was entitled “The Bell Sheep.”

The bell sheep? What in the world is that? I wondered. I read on. The article explained that when a shepherd noticed a sheep who willingly followed him and stayed near him, he hung a bell around the neck of that sheep so the flock would follow the bell sheep…who, in turn, was following the shepherd.

Knowing I would begin writing Raising a Daughter After God’s Own Heart as soon as the Christmas holiday was over, I almost jumped out of my seat when I read this. I was shouting out in my mind, “That’s it! That’s it! A mom should be the bell sheep for her daughter!”

And it’s true! When we as mothers stay close to Jesus—as close as close can be, and when we love Him with all our heart just the way Jesus said to, and when we willingly follow Him and His Word, guess what? We become His bell sheep for our daughters to follow. Our girls observe—and copy—our behavior. They can—and will—follow our example. We become their very own personal walking, living, real flesh and blood, visual example of what it means to be a child, girl, tween, teen, and woman after God’s own heart.


How to Be a Bell Sheep…in Three Verses

Finally Christmas was over, meaning it was D-Day for me—or more accurately, W-Day as in Writing Day. So I sat down to begin and wondered and prayed, “Where does Christian childrearing really begin? And what is Thing 1, Goal 1 for a mom?”

In a few seconds I had the answer! And it came from God’s Word. It was packaged in three verses I had discovered as a young mom, and also as a baby Christian. I flashed back on those early new-believer days of excitement, of newness, of need as I hungered to find out for the first time what God teaches about…everything! And especially “What in the world am I supposed to do with two little toddling girls?”

I’m so glad a wise woman had advised me to read in my new Bible every day. Well, the day arrived when I made it to the book of Deuteronomy. And there I hit gold when my eyes landed on Deuteronomy 6:5-7. I was stunned. Amazed. Thrilled! God was actually showing me His guidelines for raising my own little daughters, then only one-and-a-half and two-and-a-half years old. And in only three verses! How practical is that? Here’s what I read over and over again and finally memorized:

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength. And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.

I adore these verses because they are packed with clear communication to moms. God goes straight to the heart of the matter—the parent’s heart, the mom’s heart. He knows we become what we love. So He is utterly straightforward about where we are to place our love: We are to love Him supremely.


Two Questions to Ask Yourself

Believe me, I thought through this powerful passage—a lot! Then I took it apart word by word and thought by thought. And I came up with two questions I constantly asked my heart during those days with little girls, and still ask even today with two married daughters who are now raising their daughters. (After all, a mom is always a mom!)

Heart Question #1: What—and whom—do I love?

We “love” a lot of things for a lot of different reasons. But God prescribes perimeters and scope for our love. He tells us what not to love: “Do not love the world or the things in the world” (1 John 2:15). And He tells us what we are to love and where our love is to be focused—we are to “love the Lord” (Deuteronomy 6:5).

But hold on. The Lord goes a step further and demands all of our love. He wants us to love Him with every fiber of our being—every breath, every ounce of energy, every thought, every emotion and passion, every choice. He wants us to love Him. He wants us to think first of Him and to desire above all else to please Him. And He wants that love to be intense and total, “with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.” As writer Matthew Henry summarizes, “He that is our all demands our all.”

Matthew Henry continues on to point out that our love for God is to be a strong one that is lived out with great enthusiasm and fervency of affection. It is to be a love that burns like a sacred fire, a love that causes our every affection to flow toward Him.

Now, apply this information about the strength of this kind of love for God and think about the love you have for your daughter, for your children. I’m sure you’ve heard others say, “There is no love like a mother’s love.” And it’s true! From the split second we know a baby is on the way, all our thoughts, dreams, prayers, and goals are channeled toward that little one. We are completely consumed and preoccupied by this tiny being. As the baby grows within us, our love blossoms and our commitment to it grows right along with our expanding body.

Immediately we begin to prepare physically for his or her arrival by meticulously taking care of our health. Healthy mom equals healthy baby, we’re told. We also prepare physically by setting up a nursery area for the new little addition. A bassinet or crib. A blanket. A mobile. Clothes. Supplies. Loads of diapers! Sometimes we even paint or remodel a room.

Then we moms get to work preparing our schedule. Maybe we have to quit a job or arrange for a leave of absence. Oh, and we have to find a pediatrician, as well as make time for our own doctor appointments. And, if we’re smart, we begin to prepare by gathering wisdom and information from our own moms, other moms, and from classes, books, and the Internet.

But as much as we obsess and focus on an approaching child, God wants us to obsess and focus even more on Him. That’s because the more we love Him, the more we will know about love. And the more we know about love, the more we will know about how to love. And the more we know about how to love, the more we will love our baby, our child, our daughter. I like what C.S. Lewis wrote about his love for God and how it affected his relationship with his wife: “When I have learnt to love God better than my earthly dearest, I shall love my earthly dearest better than I do now.” Mom, your love for God will prepare you to love your child. The more you love the Lord, the better you shall love your earthly dearest daughter.

So…God’s first assignment to any and every mother is to love Him above all else. If you are a sold-out, on-fire, hot-hearted, committed-to-God woman, you will be infinitely further down the road to being the kind of mom who, by His grace, can raise a daughter after God’s own heart. Because all your love centers upon God, and because you follow Him with all your heart, you will qualify to lead your daughter to follow God too—to be…well…God’s bell sheep for her.

Heart Question #2: What’s in my heart?

I don’t know what’s in your heart, and I’m working on what’s in mine! But God tells both of us what is supposed to be there, what He wants to be there. Here it is: He says, “These words which I command you today shall be in your heart” (verse 6).

And here’s the scene surrounding these words: In Deuteronomy 6, Moses is in the final weeks of his life. It has been 40 years since God’s people left Egypt, 40 years of homeless wanderings in the desert. At last a new generation was poised to enter into the Promised Land. But before they move out, Moses restates the Law one more time to this new generation that had been born in the wilderness. Because this next generation had married and now had—and would have—children, he addresses their spiritual responsibility as parents. As Moses speaks, he doesn’t want these moms and dads to merely hear the words of the Law and the Ten Commandments. No, he wants more, way more! He wants the words of the Law to go beyond their ears and reside in their hearts.

You may want to look again at Deuteronomy 6:6, but it tells us that God’s Word, the Bible, is to be in our hearts. Other passages in the Bible send us this same message:

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night (Joshua 1:8).

Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against you (Psalm 119:11).

My son, keep my words, and treasure my commands within you…bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart (Proverbs 7:1,3).

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly (Colossians 3:16).

The message is repeated…and loud, isn’t it? And clear! God’s Word is to be in our heart. He asks this of you and me as moms. Why? Because when truth resides in your heart, then you have something to pass on to your daughter. She benefits! And you benefit too: As a mother you have something to guide you when you need help, strength, wisdom, and perseverance in your role as a mom, as a bell sheep. Don’t get me wrong—having and raising a child is perhaps the greatest earthly blessing you will ever enjoy. But, at the same time, it is the greatest challenge. But take heart, mom! God’s Word will always be there in you, with you, and for you as you guide your daughter in the ways of the Lord.

So…God’s second assignment for you as a mom is to be committed to His Word. You are to do whatever it takes to embed the teachings of the Bible in your heart, soul, and mind. As the saying goes, “You cannot impart what you do not possess.” The same is true of moms. To teach and guide, lead and raise a daughter after God’s own heart presupposes and requires that God’s truth be in your heart first. Then you possess something to impart. Then you have the most important thing to pass on to your precious daughter—the truth about God and the grace He extends through His Son, Jesus.


Becoming the Bell Sheep

I hope your heart is responding fervently to our initial glimpse at this primary role in the life of a mom after God’s own heart—that of being your daughter’s very own bell sheep. But maybe you are feeling like you need a little help. Well, read on to find out how to become the bell sheep. Practical help is on the way!




Part 2 — Ringing Your Bell

You shall teach them diligently to your children,

and shall talk of them when you sit in your house,

when you walk by the way, when you lie down,

and when you rise up.

— Deuteronomy 6:6-7



When my girls were young, I didn’t know about the bell sheep. But if I had, I would have wanted with all my heart to be one. And I would have been praying, “Oh, dear Father! You know how much I desire to be a bell sheep for my daughters. My greatest goal in life is to lead them to Jesus and teach them His ways.” I’m imagining this same heart-cry is being lifted heavenward from your soul’s core too.

As you’ve probably learned, knowing there is something God wants you to do is crucial. And wanting to do what God wants you to do is vital. But if you don’t know how to do what it is God wants you to do, you can become extremely frustrated.

So now we come to the big issue of how do I do this thing God wants—and expects—me to do? Well, here we go!


Yes, but How?

How does a mom help her daughter develop a heart for God? Deuteronomy 6:7 comes to the rescue and answers this question for you and me. God says, “You shall teach them diligently to your children” (verse 7). A mom who wholeheartedly loves the Lord and holds God’s words in her heart is to teach them to her sons and daughters.

— “To teach” There are two key ways to teach—by model and by mouth. And there are some basic practices you can follow for teaching effectively. I have a degree in education and have taught preschoolers, students from grades seven through twelve, and adults taking night school classes. Teaching was a job and I took it seriously. I developed my lesson plans for each day, week, month, semester, and school year. And I studied and prepared in advance for each day’s classes.

I also have a daughter who homeschools. I am in constant awe of her commitment. She plans out each year. She searches for materials for five children and their respective grade levels. She orders curriculum to arrive well before back-to-school day so she can preview it. Then she plans in advance the best way to teach, lead, and guide the five of them through each day of study.

Now picture this: I taught subjects that had nothing to do with God or with being a Christian, and so does my daughter. Imagine the effort we both put into teaching information and facts. And here in Deuteronomy 6:7, God is telling both of us—and all moms—to teach our children His Word, His ways, His truth. Now, this is life-changing stuff! The Bible is wisdom that will guide their lives and their choices. It is truth that will pierce a heart and bring a daughter to Christ. So be aware that every time you teach God’s Word you, the bell sheep, are ringing your bell! You are signaling to your daughter the priceless value of the treasure of the Scriptures.

This is exactly what happened in the New Testament to Timothy. As the apostle Paul said of Timothy, his trusted associate in ministry, “from childhood you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus” (2 Timothy 3:15). God’s Word is dynamite! And Timothy’s mom and grandmom, a mother/daughter tag team after God’s own heart, were faithful to ring their bells! They were faithful to teach him the sacred truths of the Bible, which paved the way for Timothy’s salvation. Mom and grandmom did their part—they fulfilled their mission to teach God’s saving truth. And God certainly did His part!

Time out for a second. I’m thinking as we pause here, shouldn’t a mom after God’s own heart who wants to raise a daughter after God’s own heart take her teaching of Scripture seriously? If you are in this position, shouldn’t you be committed to…

…instructing your daughter in God’s ways?

…planning to some extent how you will accomplish this goal?

…scheduling a time each day for some kind of formal Bible time with her?

…encouraging her to have some time alone with God, a quiet time?

…coaching her in ways to have daily devotions?

…searching for age-appropriate materials and talking with other moms about how they teach their children biblical truth?

…praying daily about this mission from God, this teacher role He has personally given you?

— “To teach diligently” Next God tells us in verse 7 to “teach them diligently to your children.” The “them” is what you are to teach—God’s Word and His commands. And “diligently” is how you are to teach—being purposeful and conscientious in a task or duty.

Think about this for a minute: What are you diligent about? Some women diligently floss their teeth. Others are so diligent they would never miss their daily exercise or walk, or be late to work, or fail to pay a bill on time. I know women who are so serious about every bite of food they put into their mouths that they diligently record what they eat in a daily log. On and on goes the list of life instances in which women choose to be diligent instead of careless, or lazy, or negligent.

Now switch your thoughts to doing what God says, to being diligent to teach spiritual truth to your daughter…versus leaving this all-important assignment to someone else, such as a church leader or a Christian school or a grandparent. Don’t get me wrong! These are wonderful and needed resources. But they are to be your partners in imparting truth, not your substitutes. You as a mother are to be the bell sheep who rings the bell of truth like crazy! You, mom, are to be the primary model and teacher of truth to your daughter.

Well, thank the Lord He doesn’t leave moms on their own. This isn’t mission impossible. No, it’s mission possible. God knows most moms don’t have a degree in education or training in teaching. And, whew, God doesn’t expect this or demand it! Aren’t you glad? Instead, He tells us how to teach and what this teaching involves. He says, “You…shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up” (verse 7).

No matter who you are, or what you do or don’t know about teaching—or how busy you are!—God expects you to pour God’s Word out of your heart and into your daughter’s heart. All you have to do is:

Step 1, love the Lord with all your heart;

Step 2, have God’s Word in your heart; and now

Step 3, teach His truths diligently.

By…what? Talking?! You mean that’s all? That’s it? Yes, that’s it—by talking.

Now I ask you, you’re a woman. How hard can talking be? Why, we girls are the world’s experts when it comes to talking!

And note where all our mother-to-daughter talking and teaching is to take place—at home. Nothing could be easier or more natural or more convenient than home sweet home! You don’t need elaborate plans. You don’t need to dress up or go anywhere. You don’t need to start the car. And you don’t need to spend any money. No. God simply says that “when you sit in your house,” you are to talk about Him.

Whew again—this one’s easy! You sit to relax. You sit to eat. You sit to visit. You sit to read. You sit to work on a craft together. And you sit whenever you’re in the car together. No matter what your daughter’s age is, these natural, low-key, sitting instances provide prime opportunities to talk about the Lord and His love and His promises…and His Son.

And “when you walk by the way” you are to talk about the Lord. From babyhood, to toddler times, to little girl, to schoolgirl, you’ll be walking with your daughter. That’s your special time for talking about the Lord. So…

Got a newborn? You will walk…and walk…and walk each time you calm your crying, ill, or restless baby. And you’ll put in miles pushing her stroller. And you’ll find yourself talking baby talk to her. I laughed out loud when I read this true-to-motherhood quip: “Being a mom means talking to your baby all the time.” So go ahead and talk all you want. It will develop the habit in you—and tune your baby girl’s heart to your voice.

How about a school-age daughter? If you walk your young daughter to school or to and from the school bus stop, you get to talk about the Lord. Tell her how He will help her through her time at school, with her test or report, with making friends. If you walk to the mailbox down the road, take your daughter along and chat about the wonders of the Lord and what it means to know Him. Let her know how she can trust Him and talk to Him anytime, anywhere, and ask for His help. When you walk together through the grocery store or the mall, again, make that an opportunity to talk about God and His provision and blessings. If there’s a breathtaking sunrise, sunset, rainbow, or wonder of nature—a bird’s nest, blooming flowers, even something as small as a dandelion, go outside and marvel at God’s handiwork together. And while you’re at it, do as the psalmist did and “talk” of His doings. “Praise” the Lord for His mighty acts and His greatness. “Declare” His faithfulness.

And then come the teen years. Hopefully you and your daughter have developed the habit of talking to each other about any and every thing, and especially about the Lord. So during her teen years, when things can get a little weird, and she may even see you as a little weird, you can still talk because of your history of talking. Believe me, if you are available, and care, and give her your love and attention, she will spill all!

And if you haven’t developed this early habit of talking, don’t worry and don’t give up. Just be sure you start now. Start talking, even if your daughter doesn’t seem to be listening. She is hearing, and what you say in loving wisdom will be filed away in her mind and heart. And it won’t go away. She won’t be able to shake it or forget it. Draw your strength from the Lord and speak the truth in love (Ephesians 4:15). And if your daughter won’t talk to you, that’s okay. Just know before God that you talked, just like He asked you to do. You faithfully rang your bell. You shared truth from His Word. And take comfort in the fact that God promises His Word will not go forth in vain but will accomplish His purposes (Isaiah 55:11).

And to end each day and start the next, God tells you what to do in Deuteronomy 6:7: “When you lie down, and when you rise up,” talk! Talk about the Lord, and keep on talking about Him. You can help even your tiny young daughter start her days and end them with thoughts of God in her mind. You can greet your waking girl with, “This is the day the Lord has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it” (Psalm 118:24). Or you can call out, “There you are, my precious blessing from the Lord! Good morning!” And at night, prayer is the perfect way to put a little—and big!—girl to bed. It puts her day and all that happened to rest. It calms all sorrows and soothes every hurt from the day. And it quells her fears. Like David testified, “I lay down and slept; I awoke, for the Lord sustained me,” and “I will both lie down in peace and sleep; for You alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety” (Psalm 3:5 and 4:8).

So…another of God’s assignments to any and every mom is to constantly be teaching and talking to your daughter about the Lord you love. Teaching and talking. And talking and teaching. Or put another way, ringing your bell! I hope you are grasping that being a Christian mom is more than taking your children to church. Home is a sort of church too. Home is the natural 24/7, morning-to-evening place to impress truth upon your daughter. Home is where she gets to see and hear every day how important the Lord is to you. Wherever and whenever the two of you are together is God’s opportunity for you to tell her about Him. So take advantage of the gift of such times. And if they are too few and far between, make it happen. Create the times together. In his book Shepherding a Child’s Heart, author Tedd Tripp gives this challenge to parents:

You shepherd your child in God’s behalf. The task God has given you is not one that can be conveniently scheduled. It is a pervasive task. Training and shepherding are going on whenever you are with your children. Whether waking, walking, talking or resting, you must be involved in helping your child to understand life, himself and his needs from a biblical perspective.


But What If…

I realize this ideal scenario does not happen in every mother/daughter relationship. Maybe the family you grew up in was not a Christian family. God knows that. He knows all about it—all about what you missed, and all about what you know and don’t know about being a Christian family and mom. So know that your mission is to begin where you are to follow the Lord. It’s never too late to receive Christ as Savior, to begin loving the Lord and growing in grace and in the knowledge of Him and His Word. You can choose any day—today, if you haven’t already—to begin diligently teaching the daughter you love, and talking to her about the God you love and who loves her. Point her to God. Encourage her in the Lord. Teach her what you know about Him from experience and from study. Pray for her with your every heartbeat. See her spiritual growth into a daughter after God’s own heart as your calling, your mission assignment from God. Commit to doing your part, and trust God to do His.

Perhaps you are thinking, This woman is crazy! Well, I wouldn’t blame you. But I will tell you I am crazy about God, crazy about my two daughters, and crazy about my four granddaughters. I will also tell you that I am passionate and passionately sold out to my role as a woman, mom, and grandmom after God’s own heart. It’s just so clear what God wants His moms to be and do. Your daughter has no other mother. You are the one He has chosen to teach her. And if you don’t, what if no one does?

Here’s a powerful description of what an all-out, all-or-nothing love for God and our daughters looks like. Let it encourage you today and in the decades of mothering to come:

…my mission is clear. I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, turned back, diluted, or delayed. I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of adversity…I won’t give up, shut up, let up, or slow up.


You Can Do It!

Each of the following suggestions is something you can do to contribute toward becoming the mom you dream of being. And each one betters your life…and your daughter’s too. Here we go:

Analyze your day.

Think through the rhythm of your day and pinpoint your discretionary time, the time when you have a choice about how it is used, when you can choose how it’s spent. There is always time to do what’s important to you. You’ll need to find the time to get to know God—to put first things first.

Design a quiet time.

Once you’ve carved out a special time to be with God, begin reading your Bible—even for just ten minutes. It’s been calculated that if you simply read your Bible for ten minutes a day, you will read through all of it in one year. That’s a doable task for you as a bell sheep whose life goal is leading your daughter to Jesus. There are scores of activities that fill your day. So steal ten minutes from a nonimportant activity like time on the Internet, time talking on the phone, time watching TV. Make a daily appointment with God and allow Him to speak to your heart from His Word.

Memorize Scripture.

Here’s a statistic for you: People remember about 40 percent of what they read. Wouldn’t it be nice to remember 100 percent? Well, you can if you memorize verses from the Bible. That’s what someone told me as a new Christian, and I followed their advice. As I shared earlier, as soon as I read Deuteronomy 6:5-7, I learned it by heart. I also picked out some verses that would help me with my daily life, including the daily challenge of being a mom after God’s own heart. Like “I can do all things [including be a mom!] through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13). Once you store up some verses in your heart, you’ll find that wherever you are and whatever is happening, you can remember God’s words to you. And just think—as a bell sheep, you can draw your daughter to Jesus as you speak His words to her.

Read about parenting.

In my mentoring ministry, one of my assignments for the women I meet with and give my time to is that they read five minutes a day on a variety of topics. They can pick the topics and the books. They can buy them, borrow them, or check them out of the church library. I do this because I’ve been reading on my own topics for five minutes a day for decades! For instance, I’ve been reading five minutes a day on marriage and family for what seems like forever. The same goes for time and life management. And health.

If you do this too, you will amaze yourself as you become an expert on your subjects by merely reading five minutes a day on them. You will also be super motivated because the topic and your new knowledge is fresh in your mind. Instead of dreading something, you’ll look forward to approaching it differently and trying some new techniques or methods. Your reading will serve as a reminder and an instructor to pay attention to the areas of your life you targeted for growth. Pray, and then choose your subjects. Just be sure as a mom that childrearing is one of them.

Write a letter to God about your daughter.

Then read the letter to Him as a prayer. Prayer involves God. So now there are two of you taking on the challenge of raising a daughter after God’s own heart. It will seal your commitment to becoming God’s kind of mom so, Lord willing and by His grace, your daughter grows to be God’s kind of girl. File your “My Prayer to Be a Mom After God’s Own Heart” away where it is handy and can be prayed often, even daily. Your prayer is another good reminder each day to keep on keeping on in your goals as a mom and your goals for your daughter. And here’s an idea: Each year on your daughter’s birthday, slip a copy of your prayer into her birthday card. Be sure to tell her where you were and what you were feeling when you wrote it. What a gift!

Mom’s Think Pad

Before you move on to your next Mom Mission, take a minute or two to think about what you can do to track with God as a mom. Make some plans of your own to take a few small steps that make a big difference.

I’m awfully busy, but I want to be the mom God wants me to be! What are several things I can do—or not do—to create some time to get into God’s Word? I want to be a mom after God’s own heart!
I want to set a goal to memorize Deuteronomy 6:5-7. Here’s my checklist:
Write these verses on an index card and carry it with me.

Pick a daily five-minute time slot that works for my schedule, during which I can memorize these verses.

Write out each verse ten times.

Copy these verses on several more index cards and post them on the refrigerator door, bathroom mirror, computer, car dashboard.

Ask my daughter to help me memorize these verses, to listen to me recite them, to be my audience, my checker, my best helper!


What are some ways I can “teach” my daughter about God and His Word by “talking” about Him…
…when we are sitting together?

…when we are walking together?

…when she is going to bed or going down for her nap?

…when she gets up?

What are some ways I can be more faithful and “diligent” in passing on God’s truth to my daughter?
Do I need to be mentored in my own spiritual growth? Who could help me? Or is there a class I can take? A group I can join? A book I can read?

 

Raising a Daughter After God’s Own Heart is available at your favourite bookstore, even amazon.ca.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Easy Bake Ultimate Oven

8B8C1C1F5056900B10B9E0CF58A0A606Easy Bake Ultimate Oven
From Hasbro Canada

Bake up sweet and tasty treats with the EASY BAKE Ultimate Oven. No more light bulbs needed! Use the included mixes, pans and other goodies to whip up cake and cookie batter. Follow the directions to bake them inside the oven. The included recipe booklet has even more yummy ideas and recipes that are just the icing on the cake!

Oven comes with baking pan, cupcake pan, pan pusher, chocolate chip cookie mix, red velvet cake mix, pink frosting mix, rainbow sugar crystals package, paper cupcake wraps and instructions/recipe booklet.

/!\ CAUTION - ELECTRIC TOY Not recommended for children under 8 years of age.

My Thoughts

Oooooh!  The memories I have with this particular toy.    *grin*    And to know that it still exists so many years later is exciting!   I have fond memories of me baking some little cakes for my parents when I was younger (like 34 years ago –YIKES!   Did I wrote that down?)…   I am hoping and praying that my little girl will have fun memories doing it with me and later on by herself.

My daughter will be four this December.   I know she is too young to play with this by herself.   Supervision will be necessary!   But I am SO looking forward to decorate cakes with her…

Cake decorating is still part of my life.   I have taken a course at Michael's with Wilton to learn to decorate cakes.   I do it for fun.   I have no intention to go into that business as I see how much time it takes.  But for my family, I am enjoying being creative and make their birthday extra special.  Maybe my love of doing this comes from the time I used to cook little cakes back in the days… 

Sometimes I use special molds for their birthdays while other times I try to be creative…   See some of the cakes I did in the past!

DSCN69462004_06_17_004

2009_06_25_05_49_08DSCN5480

2010_12_16_09_01_41_00172011_02_26_18_01_24_0001Dcp_2897

 

A little bit of history for the Easy Bake Oven…

Did you know that the first easy bake oven came out in 1963?  That was literally 6 years before I was born.   Look at what the oven looked like back then.

ori_2989d28400ae36

In 1969 – the year I was born, the Easy Bake was looking like this.

image

By 1977 – which is about the time I would have gotten mine the Easy Bake Oven was looking like this.

image

Over the years, the Easy Bake oven has known many modifications and redesigns to become a toy that kept coming back to please both moms and daughters.

The latest redesign was recently make with this new version and stylish oven.  Isn’t it beautiful?   I can already hear the happiness when my daughter will discover this!

8B8C1C1F5056900B10B9E0CF58A0A606

If you are interested in learning more about the history of the Easy bake Oven please check out this timeline – though it has not been recently updated. 

Hasbro has a multitude of packages to cook a variety a products from cakes to cookies as well as pizzas.   Back in the days it was cake and that’s it.  Now young girls can have a choice in making anything they want with the Easy Bake Oven.   I’m super excited to discover new recipes and see what yummy things we could cook together my daughter and I.

B3D67DF95056900B10E24E893CA979D3E0C82A0E5056900B105E9DA60D29C63E

I’m really impressed with the design of the oven and the items included in the box.   You will have many tools to help you cook fantastic and delicious cakes and more.    I love the fact that some molds are included in some of the extra packages so that my sweet Jasmine can become the baker in the family!  *grin*   I’m sure she will have great pleasure to do a special meal for daddy or her big brothers.

GREAT NEWS!

I received a second Easy Bake Oven to giveaway.

This contest is open for people in the Ottawa area only!   Pick up of the item will be necessary as well.

So to participate, share your memories of playing with the Easy Bake and what year your oven was more than likely made.   Also indicate who will have the chance to play with this wonderful item and when you will give it?

You must leave your email address in the comment as well.

DEADLINE: October 10th, 2011.

The Easy Bake Oven is available at your favourite toy store.

Disclaimer: I received the product for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Inspiration through Pinterest

Recently, while pinning some interesting things on Pinterest from cooking to cake decorating as well as homeschool ideas or crafts to do, I stumbled upon a painting that inspired me.

image

I have no clue where this was taken…  but I loved it.  

It reminded me of Matthew 6:26 in a way.

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not more valuable than they?  (NIV)

And I got inspired to do something similar to represent our family because I know that God has taken care of us and will continue to do so. 

This morning I drew the birds….  I changed the colors to go with our house.   What do you think?

image

 

image

365 Project–Day 266

IMG_1264

This was taken after our oldest caught a pike…  Hubby caught a sun fish.  LOL

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Storytelling and Communications Styles

This week I have learned how to transform myself as a digital storyteller. As part of my readings I had to read an article on persuasive writing that inspired me to become a better writer.

Essentially, writing in a persuasive way will influence the reader to pursue their reading and eventually do something at the end. But to tpd014ta1594do so, I need to identify my audience and catch their attention somehow by being specific in what I am writing. In my review blog, Canadianladybug Reviews!, I know that whoever reads my posts has an interest in discovering what I think about a specific product or book.

What I always try to do is to present the product/book, indicate who is behind it (whether a company or an author), explain how our family has use the product or how the book has touched me and finally where you can find it (when possible). To make it more personal, I include pictures of our family using the product or explain how a book spoke to me while I was reading it. I find that if I personalize a post as much as possible it makes it more real for my readers and they would accept the review better.

However, I have discovered this week that using an active voice will make the blog post clearer, precise and might encourage the reader to react by leaving a comment. Ideally, I would love to have more interaction with my readers on both of my blogs.

English is not my first language and my husband graciously offered me to review some of my writings a while back. Recently he told me that I have made tremendous improvement in my writings. But going through the material this week I have learned more on how to write better with some tips on how to improve my post. I am looking forward to see how my writings will be by the end of my Digital Communication course.

What specific aspect of writing do you think you need to improve?  Please share your thoughts on this.

Note to my readers: I am currently doing two courses to complete my Social Media Certificate. One of the course is Digital Communication. This is my second blog post assignment. I will post my assignments here.

365 Project–Day 265

IMG_1382

Ready to wear…

Monday, September 26, 2011

365 Project–Day 264

IMG_1388

Fire station pole

Empire Reel Babies

image

I have my first baby on June 25, 2001.   Back then I remember that there was some theaters that offered a special showing for moms with little ones.    I went to a couple of them but I will admit that I didn’t spend a lot of time in theaters with my young ones.   The theater was open but it was difficult toEmpire deal with diapers and so on back in the days.  There was also a time when if you baby would fuss and cry in a public place you would get some comments or disapproving glances around you.   

10 years have passed since then.   Nowadays, I find that people are more sympathetic with a fussy little one when you are in a restaurant (well most people are anyway!).   But I also discovered that the theaters have enhanced what they offer to moms of young ones who want to go to see a movie. 

The Empire Reel Babies Program will open their door twice a month so that you can enjoy a new-release movie in a baby-friendly environment.  Not only that but the theater is equipped with a change table, bottle warmer, play mat and swing as well!  They even keep the lights on dim and lower the volume a bit.   Talk about being of service to a new mom who needs to go out!   I think it is fabulous and I am partly wishing I would have a baby to enjoy such treatment.   But my kids have grown now…   Remember that little one I have back in 2001?   Well he turned 10 years old this summer and since then two brothers came to join him (2004 and 2005) as well as a sister in 2007.

6-28-2011 7;19;02 AM2011_03_12_17_04_22_0001

IMG_1036IMG_9431

My kids love to watch movies and I am planning to bring them to a family friendly selection.   I like the fact that the sound will be brought down – even for my kids I am careful with this.    My only disappointment with the program is not knowing in advance what will be playing.   The only Empire Theater offering it is located in Orléans which is about 40 minutes away from my house.  But to have the opportunity to bring all four of my kids at the theater is special to me.   So I am keeping my eyes open for a fun movie to go together which is not dirty, scary or anything with bad language.  

But more importantly, Empire Reel Babies is the ultimate outing for new parents.  Twice a month, you can go and enjoy a new-release movie in a baby-friendly environment.   So get out of the house twice a month and go see the latest blockbuster with your spouse or a friend.

In Ottawa, the only Empire theater that offer the Reel Babies program is the  ORLÉANS - Empire Theatres Orléans  which is located at 3752 Innes Road Orléans, ON K1W 0C8  Phone: (613) 830-4400 Movie Line: (613) 830-3133.  To find out if your closest Empire theater is offering the Reel Babies program, simply go to the Playdates page on their website.

For more information on the Reel Babies program, feel free to visit http://www.empiretheatres.com/reelbabies

Disclosure – I am participating in the Empire Reel Babies program by Mom Central Canada on behalf of Empire Theatres. I received compensation as a thank you for my participation. The opinions on this blog are my own.

EA Sports Active 2 UPDATE

imageEA Sports Active 2
Created by EA Games

This morning I started the second phase of the nine week training on EA Sports Active 2.  

I didn’t have the motivation as we got up early yesterday morning for some time on the lake fishing and such.   I was overtired yesterday evening and when I woke up this morning I felt as though I needed more sleep…

But duty calls as I have to homeschool the kids and we have a visit at a fire station at 1pm.

So when my husband left for his contract downtown, I went in the basement and started my training session.

The first thing I have realized is that the number of reps were higher.   Before I was doing jump for 65 times now it is 80….  Should I mentioned I had to stop a couple of times?   I think my whole body was still sleeping.    This morning my training was mostly based on basketball which I enjoyed but there was also running as well as muscle toning.    The reps for muscle toning also went up a inch from 10 to 12.    The only bug I have found so far is that when doing some of the muscle toning exercises, my training mentions the bands when I have selected the weight.   Personally I prefer the weight that’s why I chose those instead of the elastic bands.   But the programming doesn’t seem to register this and the talking still mentions the elastic bands…   No big deal I guess.

The only exercise I had trouble doing was the bend arm side plank holding for 20 seconds.   Somehow it is always put before the cool down and by then my energy level is majorly depleted.   So every once in a while I can do it but today I just couldn’t perform what was asked.   

So far I have not registered weight loss but I know that my muscles are tone, that pants are slightly bigger at the waist and that I can run to catch up on my kids.     I only started tracking the food last week so I am not expecting to see results right away.  

I will continue to update on my journey with EA Sports Active in the next couple of weeks.     Phase two has started and it will take about three weeks to complete it.

EA Sports Active 2 is available at your favourite store, even amazon.ca. It is available for the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and the Wii.

Disclaimer: I received the product for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

One Thousand Gifts–Week 16

multitudesonmondaysbutton2-1

161. Homeschool which allows my kids to do their work anywhere they want…

162. A son who loves to cook for the family and did his first focaccia bread

163. fall season who finally arrived

164. APPLE picking –though the orchard we went to go hit by a tornado and hail back in August and lost most of its crop.   No apples were in the trees and he had to get apples from other orchards. Sad smile

165. Cider donuts freshly made

166. Colors in the trees

167. Harvest season

168. weird looking gourds

169. photography opportunities

170. the sunshine during these last few days of summer…

IMG_1051IMG_1061

IMG_1113IMG_1125

IMG_1134IMG_1138

Sunday, September 25, 2011

365 Project–Day 263

IMG_1317

Four Canadian geese passing in the sky…. Fall is indeed here!  You see then everywhere.  A few more weeks before they leave for the winter.

it reminds me that one day my four kids will leave the house.  My house will always be open for them and I know that they will come back every once in a while like the geese come back every spring season.  

Friday, September 23, 2011

365 Project–Day 261

IMG_1090

Finger prints fun! (first day of Fall – making leaves on a tree…)

Thursday, September 22, 2011

365 Project–Day 260

IMG_1077

Action shot….   Trying to take a pic of a remote control toy…!   LOL

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

365 Project–Day 259

IMG_1056

Jasmine eyeing the focaccia bread her brother has made…