Saturday, October 11, 2014

The Giver Quartet

9780544340978The Giver Quartet
Written by Lois Lowry
Published at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

About the book

This first-ever Lois Lowry single-volume collection includes unabridged editions of the Newbery Medal-winning The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. Lois Lowry's groundbreaking dystopian series comes alive in a single portable volume. An affordable addition to the shelves of teen fans and collectors alike.

My Thoughts

I first discovered the Giver novel when I realized that the book was been made into a movie.   Being the kind of person who prefers to read the book before watching the movie, I found a copy at a second hand store and quickly read through it.  By the time, I read the last line of the book I was hooked and wanted to read the rest of the series.  However, I was having trouble finding the other titles at a second hand store.   Imagine my delight when the four books were offered in a one volume edition.   I was so looking forward to read the rest of the series that I immediately jumped in this book when I received it.

The Giver Quartet includes all the four books that are part of The Give series:  The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.    These four titles are linked through the series though you wouldn’t think so after reading the first and the second installments.  But when you arrive the the third and then the fourth, you realized how intertwined the books are.

The Giver is the story of twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment - world without conflict, poverty, unemployment, divorce, injustice, or inequality.   It is a time in which family values are paramount, teenage rebellion is unheard of, and even good manners are a way of life.  In Gathering Blue,  you will follow the life of Kira who, when left orphaned and physically flawed in a civilization that shuns and discards the weak, faces a frighteningly uncertain future. But Kira possesses a gift that the leaders of her village wants to use.  This novel will challenge you to think about community, creativity, and the values that they have learned to accept. Messenger is the story of Matty which was primarily introduced in Gathering Blue.  In this book, you will follow him in quest of a personalized name and in helping bringing life in the midst of death and fear. Finally, Son is the story of Claire who fled her village and is found on the shore.   She is on a quest of finding where she is from and what became of the child she has birth.  This compelling book is the conclusion of the series.

The four books are a delight to read and are different than any other kind of literature.   It is a perfect series to introduce the teen in your life to a different kind of society and how he/she would react if living in it.   Each books are thought provoking and make you realize that having the perfect society is not necessarily the best.  This series is a fabulous read and can open numerous discussions between you and your teen.  

This book is the perfect gift for a teenager this coming Christmas.     

The Giver Quartet is available for purchase at your favourite bookstore, even and


Disclaimer: Thanks to Thomas Allen for sending me the above mentioned product for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment