Saturday, August 19, 2017

Rollors

IMG_3307Recently we were looking to new lawn games for us to play when we are at the RV or at home.  One of the games I stumbled upon was Rollors which essentially is a game that will remind you of bocce and horseshoes. 

The game offers a unique alternative to regular lawn games that probably most of people know.   It includes oversized wooden disks (the rollors) as well as two wooden goal set 25 feet apart.  

IMG_3309IMG_3303

The goal of the game is for one player (or team) to get the most points.    How do you do that?  Well quite easily actually because all you have to do is to roll the disk toward a goal.  The disks closest to the goal win. 

IMG_3304IMG_3305

As you can see it is not always easy to be close to the goal.  But with time and practice it is feasible.   I personally found the best way for me to roll the disk is to hold it in my hand and flipped my hand toward the ground.   My disks often went close to the goal.   You can measure the distance of the disk by using the cord included in the package.

IMG_3306

The set comes with six disks – 3 blues and 3 reds – as wel as two goals and the cord for measure the distance.


IMG_3308

We were disappointed a bit to see that the game was only for two players at first but I have recently discovered that you can purchase expansion packs in order to have more players on your game.  I wish I had known this because I would have requested two sets of expansion packs for our family.  You see we are six people and when playing a lawn game it would be more fun to have enough rollors for everyone.

Still the game is fun.  I enjoyed playing with it.  Not everyone in my family enjoyed it as much as me but I suspect it is because some had difficulties to get their rollors near the goal.   But again – practice makes almost perfect.   With more playing time I think that this game will become quickly one that everyone will enjoy.

This game is perfect for the entire family and can be played everywhere – at camping, on the beach, in the park, in your yard (if it is big enough!)…

You can purchase the game online at their website or on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

The base game and expansion packs on Amazon.ca

  

The base game and expansion packs on Amazon.com

   

 

Disclaimer: I have received the base game of Rollors from Bolaball for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

All Saints

All SaintsAbout the Movie

A great story with a biblical message, All Saints is an encouragement and challenge to believe boldly, love unconditionally and give selflessly. The film is based on the inspiring true story of salesman–turned–pastor Michael Spurlock (John Corbett), the tiny church he was ordered to shut down, and a group of refugees from Southeast Asia. Together, they risked everything to plant seeds for a future that might just save them all. Also starring Cara Buono and Barry Corbin. Look for it in theaters this fall!

Our Thoughts

We recently had the privilege to preview the upcoming movie All Saints via an online connection.   One evening we sat down with our children in order to watch the movie.   We enjoy watching movies based on true story and if you are like us I think you will like All Saints.

The story is about a man who has left the world of sales to become a pastor.   He and his family move in a tiny church – All Saints – but the goal of his superiors is to sell the land before moving him to another church.   However, through certain encounters, he decides to turn the land of the church into a farm in order to save it.   However, circumstances will put road blocks on his way and challenges will make things hard for him to do so.   I will not go into details on what happens in the movie but I thought it was interesting to see how the church came together in order to create this farm.

Though John Corbett (My Big Fat Greek Wedding) is amazing in his role of Rev. Michael Spurlock, I think my favorite character was  Forrest played by Barry Corbin.  Not only his comments brought laughter but his whole personality is present throughout the movie.  

One thing we had found while watching this movie is that there are times when the flow of the movie slows down quite a bit and it seems as though it drags.  But then something happen and the flow goes back to normal.   I find that a lot of faith based movie are like this and it is a bit disappointing.   It would be great if all faith based movies would have a consistency on the story line and that down part could be sped up a bit.

Nevertheless this is a great family movie to watch.   It presents how a church can be welcoming to refugees and how you can find solutions to ordeals where you least expect them to be.  

What does the Bible says about refugees?   http://origin-flash.sonypictures.com/ist/allsaints_resources/AllSaints_Infographic1_RefugessInBible.pdf

Read the article of the real Rev. Michael Spurlock on how welcoming refugees saved his dying church.

Are you curious about All Saints?  You can watch the trailer here.

Numerous resources are available for All Saints on the website including a discussion guide.

All Saints Opening Theatres (August 25th & advance showings August 24th).   It would make a great date night movie for adults, a great time at the movie for families, as well as a great church event if you want to organize a movie night for your congregation.  Below you will find where in Canada the movie will be showed.  This list was updated on August 15th.   I have highlighted in red where the movie will be shown in my area.

Ontario
Galaxy 12 Barrie
Silvercity 12 Burlington
Silvercity Stony Creek Hamilton
Galaxy 10 Waterloo
Cineplex Odeon Westmount 11 London + VIP
Silvercity Gloucester + IMAX
Cineplex Cinemas Vaughan IMAX + AVX
Silvercity 16 Brampton
Queensway 20 AVX + VIP Etobicoke
Cineplex Odeon Winston Churchill Cinemas Oakville
Landmark 10 Pen Centre St. Catharines
Landmark 24 Whitby
Devonshire Mall 12 Windsor
Eglinton Towne Centre Scarborough

Manitoba
Silvercity 14 Polo Park + IMAX Winnipeg

Saskatchewan
Scotiabank Saskatoon

Alberta
Scotiabank Theatre Chinook 16 + IMAX Calgary
Landmark 16 Country Hills Calgary
South Edmonton Commons 16
North Edmonton 14 Cinemas
Galaxy 11 Red Deer

British Columbia
Cineplex Cinemas Abbotsford & VIP
Cineplex Cinemas Langley + IMAX
Silvercity Coquitlam

Nova Scotia
Scotiabank Theatre Halifax + IMAX

PEI
Cineplex Cinemas Charlottetown

Disclaimer: The link to the movie has been provided courtesy of Sony Canada and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

The Case for Christ

case_for_christAbout the Movie

A hard-driving journalist, Lee Strobel (Mike Vogel) was exactly where he expected to be at work: on top. His award-winning investigative reporting recently earned him a promotion to legal editor at the Chicago Tribune. But things weren’t going nearly as well at home where his wife Leslie’s (Erika Christensen) newfound faith in Christ went against everything Lee believed—or didn’t believe—as an avowed atheist.

Utilizing his journalistic and legal training, Lee begins a quest to debunk the claims of Christianity in order to save his crumbling marriage. Chasing down the biggest story of his career, Lee comes face-to-face with unexpected results that could change everything he knows to be true.

Our Thoughts

Last night we had the privilege to watch The Case for Christ as a family.   My husband and I were no stranger to the story because we had read the book when it first came out many years ago.   For those of you who do not know the story behind the movie let me tell you that it is an incredible investigating journey as an attempt to discredit Jesus Christ on many aspects of his life, death and resurrection.  This investigation is triggered by the fact that his wife becomes a Christian at some point in time. Through the process, the reporter discover that the claims of Christianity are solid and his faith moves from atheist to believer.  He himself realizes that Jesus Christ is true and real.

The movie highlights the main ideas find in the book (I still think the book contains many more interesting results of his investigation and is worth reading!).   The movie portrays the 1980s very well with décor as well as the clothes, hairdos and so many more details that were well thought of in the movie.  As for the storyline itself, I find that it was a very good representation of what we have read in the book.   

We also found that the movie was really well made in a sense that there was no dragging scenes or pauses throughout the story.  Sometimes we find that faith based movies possess some scenes that just take a long time to be finished.  This is not happening in The Case for Christ.   There was a good flow in the storyline and sometimes you would see flashback from the past when the main character pondered on his relationship with his wife before she became a Christian.

Our whole family, 2 adults and 4 kids ages 9, 11, 13 and 16, enjoyed the movie.   As parents we find that it is essential to expose our kids to true-life stories and The Case for Christ is a great example of how a person who “investigate” can become a Christian.     The movie is absolutely family friendly I find.  Be aware that there will be scene where the main character, Lee Strobel, will go to bars to drink as well as come back home drunk.  Nevertheless, I find this movie to be a great movie to watch as a family and trigger discussion for days or weeks to come.   My plan now is to schedule the reading of the youth edition of the books that Lee Strobel wrote – Case for Christ, Case for Faith and Case for a Creator – as part of their homeschool assignments this year.   They are all in age to be able to understand the concepts presented in the books. 

I would highly recommend The Case for Christ for family movie night to anyone.   It can also be a tool for a discussion with your teens and/or non-believer friends.   I know that a movie guide is available for purchase in order to trigger the discussion after watching the movie.  

You can Watch the trailer here.  

The Case for Christ came out on DVD, Blu-ray, and for digital download on August 15th, and is available at amazon.ca and amazon.com.

DVD

 

Blu-Ray

 

Official Movie Guide

Disclaimer: The link to the movie has been provided courtesy of Mongrel Media and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Special theme nights at camp

My kids go to a Christian camp during the summer and during the week that they are there they have some special events happening.  Last year for example, they had a space them evening.  You should have seen the decorations they had put in the dining hall.   It was impressive…

So this year, before Girl’s overnight stay camp, I received an email telling me what will be the themes.   One was Hawaiian which is not a problem.  The other theme was about Canada’s 150th birthday which we are celebrating this year – 2017.   In the email it mentioned that the camper can dress into something old (like grandparents), a candle or a cake.  

And guess what my sweet and adorable daughter picked – a CUPCAKE! 

Here’s the thought that went into my head…. “hmmmm!  cucpake…. How in the world will I pull this off?” yeah….   I told her that I would google to see what I can come up.  

And I did find a website telling me how to make a cupcake costume.  SERIOUSLY!   Someone came up with this idea for a low cost…

So I found a laundry basket that was not too heavy.  Cut the bottom and put up some bungy cord.

IMG_9682

Then I went to the Dollar store and purchase some big carboard in order to make the bottom part of the cupcake.   It wasn’t perfect but it did the trick.

IMG_9708

Fortunately, I have some pink material that I could use for the icing part.   All it took was cutting, sewing and filling it.  At first I had put too much of the white fluffy stuff in it…. I had to reopen the tubes and remove about half of it.   The bottom part was glued at first but it wasn’t sticking so I used double-sided velcro which we had at home and it did the trick.   For the top part of the icing I decided to sew it to the bottom section both outside and inside the costume.  That way it will be more stable.

IMG_9718IMG_9719

And then it was gluing the part with the pompoms which represent the sprinkles.

And voilà!  My daughter has her cupcake costume for the Canada’s birthday theme event.  Needless to say, she was delighted with the results.

IMG_9781

This week I have received the email for Boy’s overnight stay camp.   They have three theme – Super-heroes (not a problem in this house since we have plenty of costumes super-hero related), Canada’s 150th birhtday (however this time they asked the boys to show their patriotism – easy red and white eh?) and instead of gentlemen night they will have a filthy evening – which I assume will be disgusting.  

Every year when the kids come back from their camp, they have made incredible memories.   This year will be another great year for sure…

Thule Women Guidepost Backpacking Pack

Remember the backpack that had tubular metal for the frames? Yeah the old ones from back in the 80s. I used to walk with one of these when I was in the girl guides. It was the top of the line back then..... bulky, straight, but doing the job nevertheless. And then when I was a bit older I got a second hand backpack that had better pads and easier to carry. But honestly I wish I had a time travel to come in 2017 and get the new Thule guidepost because this is an extraordinary backpack design with women in mind.

IMG_9744IMG_9746

First of all you have the possibility to adjust the height of the torso as well as the shoulder pads width based on your body form itself. Yes I am not kidding you about this. This is some of the functionality of the Thule Guidepost that is worth considering when you purchase a backpack. Another fabulous feature is definitively the fact that the hip belt can pivot as you walk. This will give you the maximum comfort.

IMG_9738IMG_9737IMG_9745

But the backpack also comes with a numerous bonuses like the versaclick snaps which allow you to include other accessories. The backpack comes with a weatherproof rooftop pocket which allows you to protect important papers in case of rain. However, you could also purchase a ware bottle sleeve, a DSLR holster, a mirrorless camera holster, as well as an accessory pouch.

IMG_9739

Another functionality that is interesting is the PowerPocket which allow you the manage the cords of your device is your wear a head phone and listen to music while doing your climb or walk. You also have the possibility to unclip the lid and transform it was a summit backpack if you desire.

IMG_9741IMG_9743

And if you want to get to the bottom of the backpack to get something without having to remove everything in it, a handy-dandy J zip access will allow you to do that in à matters of seconds. Oh and by the way you can put 65 lbs of things in it.

IMG_9747IMG_9748

Finally to make this backpack even more interesting, You will have a raincover included in it so that your items inside are protected from the rain that could surprise you during your outdoor adventure.

IMG_9740

This backpack is definitively one of the best on the market. But I really do not see why the company is specifically highlighting the fact that it is for women in mind though. Because like it or not people comes in all sizes and shapes. You will have women who are more bulky and might prefer to get the backpack designed for men as well as men who are slimmer and could be more comfortable with a backpack designed for women. Personally, I would have no problem to have my sixteen years old son use this backpack on an adventure or mission trip.

The backpack I received was a bordeaux colour but there are other Colors available as well. Also a Thule Guidepost allowing 75 lbs of things in it is also available.

The Thule Women’s Guidepost Backpacking Pack is available for purchase on Amazon.ca.

65 LB model

  


75 LB model

  

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Beoplay A1 Portable Bluetooth Speaker

IMG_9796I recently received a B&O Beoplay A1 Portable Speaker to review from Amazon Vine Voices. 

ABSOLUTELY STUNNING SOUND!


This is the one item that my husband immediately tried when we received it for review. Connecting it to his iPhone was easy and very simple. And once it was connected, my husband tried numerous songs from his collection to see how the speaker would handle it.IMG_9798

It will take 2.5 hours to charge this speaker but you will obtain 24 hours of play time which is truly amazing to be honest. Most portable speaker would last maybe 10 hours but this one last much longer.

The quality of the sound from this small speaker is fabulous. I was truly impressed. Even our 16 years old son was amazed by it. Now, it looks like I have lost the privilege of using this speaker because my husband has taken it for him office area at home. Mmmmm!

Not this speaker will not play stereo unless you have another B&O Beoplay A1 connected to it. We know because we had a particular song who would test the right and left speaker before starting and there was no difference when we listened to it. But at the price of the speaker I wonder how many people would purchase two of them....  Another feature this specific speaker possess is the ability to talk to Siri without having to touch the Apple device.  

Needless to say it is a pricey item but the quality of the sound coming out of this portable speaker is great. You can carry it around with you - even attaching it to a backpack while walking in the forest.

The Beoplay A1 is available for purchase on Amazon.  The portable speaker is available in the following colors: black, charcoal grey, tangerine, deep red, moss green, natural, and sand stone.

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Viva Naturals Ultrasonic Aromatherapy Essential Oil Diffuser

For a little while now I have been looking at aromatherapy a little bit more.  I have some allergies and was diagnosed with asthma this year.    This is mainly the reason behind my research on aromatherapy because there is so much that you can do with essential oils apparently.   I never had an infuser so I was excited to try it when it was offered on Amazon Vine Voices.

IMG_9710This stylish diffuser will allow you to use the essential oils you might have at home in an easy way. The whole process is very simple. Pour a quantity of water in the infuser, add some drops of essential oils, and voilà! You are all set for some relaxation and uplifting time.

This particular device is interesting because you have the capability to set it up for 1 hour, 3 hours or 6 hours. Obviously you have the control to include as little or as much water as you desire. A little measuring cup is included in the package. You can also include some light function which will switch through the colors (moonlight white, firefly green, aquamarine teal, galaxy purple, sunset red, mellow yellow, and mystic blue) or you can set it up fixed as well as remove the light options.

IMG_9713

According to Viva Naturals, this will help you to purify  your home by eliminating toxins and fight molds.   It would also stop the germs from spreading because many essential oils contain powerful anti-microbial compounds that bind to germs in the air and remove them.   That way you can fight colds, flu, and other type of bugs through the year.

Essentially, I find that it is a liIMG_9712ttle humidifier that you can have close to you when using it. It allows you to incorporate some essential oils in the water in order to spread some vilifying smells near you. The smells is not too strong and will help you to improve your health.  My only disappointment is that the infuser did not come with some essential oils. Fortunately, I already had a bottle at home. So I used that when I tried it out.  I set the diffuser on my bedside table and make it run in the afternoon while I was resting.    I like the fact that it would gently send through the air via the mist the scent I had picked.  The diffuser is very quiet so you won’t be bothered with the noise.

I really like the style and the color of the diffuser I have received. It comes in black and ash (greyish) as well.  This particular model allows you to have 400 ml of water in it.

The Viva Naturals Diffuser is available for purchase on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

Pine Tranquil Model

 

Espresso Tranquil Model

 

Ash Tranquil Model

 

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Saturday, July 1, 2017

How Machines Work Zoo Break

61LF1 d-U1LHow Machines Work – Zoo Break!
By David Macaulay
Published at DK

About the book

Award-winning artist David Macaulay introduces readers to his hilarious new creations, Sloth and Sengi, in How Machines Work: Zoo Break!

Complete with a unique jacket with an interactive compound machine incorporating several of the simple mechanisms featured in the book, How Machines Work: Zoo Break! uses models and illustrations to demonstrate the technology of six simple machines: levers, pulleys, screws, inclined planes, wedges, and wheels.

Follow the mad antics of Sloth and his sidekick Sengi as they try to find their way out of the zoo with the help of machines. Their efforts are brought to life through novelty elements including pop-ups, pull-outs, and lift-the-flaps, allowing readers to explore in greater depth how and why machines work. Spreads highlight the use of simple machines in everyday objects, such as scissors and clocks, mixers and whisks, bikes and brakes, while the story contains clear and simple text to engage the reader.

My Thoughts

Does your child desire to learn more about simple mechanisms like wedges, pulleys, levers and so on?   But most of the books you find seem to be a bit complicated for his level of comprehension?   Search no longer because DK has recently publish a fun book with the partnership of David Macaulay.  This fun book follow Sloth and Sengi who are trying desperately to escape the life of the zoo because they are bored.   Through the pages of this book, you will have numerous illustrations retracing their tries in leaving their enclosure.  

81aDbJksToL81aMIvoR6PL

81C2LfDjneL81t5ZtX1BcL

But that is not all that you will find in the book…  You will also read how their ideas can help them, how simple mechanisms are easy to make and that we use them day to day, and how they fail to be free (in a way).    Also you will discover tabs to lift, a leverage to play with, pop-up sections and much more which makes the book even more interesting to explore and learn from.

I find this book to be a breath of fresh air when in comes to learning something like simple machines.  It is fun, quirky, out-of-the-ordinary, and simply easy to read.   The kids won’t be the only one enjoying the adventures of Sloth and Sengi because mom and dad can also read it.

How Machine Work – Zoo Break! is available for purchase at your favorite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

One Dominion

Cover-1-E1001-1-300x450One Dominion – Celebrating Canada – Prepared for a Purpose
Published at Bible League Canada

About the book

One Dominion: Celebrating Canada, Prepared for a Purpose invites readers into an exploratory journey through Canada’s history, highlighting key moments of faith and Christian influence, from the founding of educational institutions and hospitals, to the creation of countless charitable organizations and architectural masterpieces. With inspiring accounts of individuals who founded our country upon the Living Word of God, One Dominion helps readers uncover a deeper understanding of Canada’s foundations and futures, through Scripture and the tests of faith passed by those who have gone before.

In this carefully crafted book, Paul Richardson, President of Bible League Canada, and Bob Beasley, Vice President of International Ministry at Bible League Canada, identify Canada’s purpose and mandate as a nation, as inscribed on the Peace Tower of Parliament Hill: “He shall have dominion also from sea to sea, and from the river unto the ends of the earth.” (Psalm 72:8 KJV) Through stunning photography and enthralling historical accounts, this book is designed to instill confidence and hope in the Christians of Canada and encourage them to steward well the resources, opportunities, and peace with which this country has been blessed. Richardson encourages, “Canadians have much to be thankful for, past, present, and future, and much to steward well, both at home and for the benefit of other countries. This is a great reminder of just that.”

My thoughts

I am pleased to promote the book One Dominion that was published by Bible League Canada this year in honor of Canada’s 150th birthday.    The book is essentially a coffee table book that reflects on the Christian heritage of Canada of the past, present, and future.   The book covers the purpose and mandate of our nation based on the scripture that was chosen for Canada’s motto – PSALM 72:8 (KJV).

19388522_10155221105491328_2017489941378474071_o

As I mentioned above, I consider it as a coffee table book.   The book is larger than normal (10” x 12”) and could be difficult to handle when reading it.   It is feasible though.  But apart from the size issue that I have noticed, the book is an absolute gem of history for Canadian Christian because it will highlight the Christian heritage we have as a nation.   I have learned quite a bit while flipping through the pages and reading it.   Not only does this book displays stunning photographs but it contains a timeline highlighting some of the main events in this history of Canada.

The chapter that I have found the most interesting was Chapter 4 where I learned quite a lot about the Peace Tower.  From the information I have gleaned in that chapter I have learned that the Peace Tower was built in 1917 following a fire on Parliament Hill and that it contains Scripture verses at the top.   And yes, this make me want to plan a visit to go at the top of the Peace Tower sometime this year because apparently they will close the Centre Block in 2018 for a decade for much needed construction repairs.   I am in awe of the fact that numerous scripture verses are found over the windows and in the stained glass windows.    All three windows – east, south and west – boldly proclaim the Word of God.  Not only these windows are a testimony of our Christian heritage.   At the top of the Peace Tower, a carillon ring 15 minutes each day at noon.  This carillon is composed of 53 bells and the largest of them also has a scripture verse  inscribed in it which was requested by Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King.   The scripture of this bell is Luke 2:14 (KJV) “Glory to God in the highest and on earth peace, good will to men.”     These are some of the things I didn’t know when I opened the book One Dominion and I will never forget the Christian Heritage that is found in the Peace Tower.   I was telling my oldest son, age 16, about it this morning and even he thought that it was cool that these scriptures are found at the top of the tower in the Centre Block on the Canadian Parliament.

I think this book would be a fabulous addition to your personal library for various reasons: it does highlight the Christian Heritage of Canada and it is a great souvenir to possess for the celebration of our country’s 150th birthday.

One Dominion is available for purchase directly from Bible League Canada for the price of 29.99$.  

Disclaimer: The book has been provided courtesy of Bible League Canada and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Friday, June 30, 2017

DK Smithsonian Science Year by Year

61jDtzDwG5LDK Smithsonian Science Year by Year
Published at DK

About the book

Packed with fascinating discoveries and facts, this visual reference takes kids on a fantastic journey through time, from stone tools and simple machines to space travel and robots.

Easy-to-follow illustrated timelines of pivotal scientific developments explore the ideas, experiments, and technologies that have shaped our daily lives over the past 3 million years. With more than 1,200 images, in-depth explanations of key inventors and innovations, quotes from groundbreaking scientists like Marie Curie, and stunning "moment in time" images of key events such as the first human landing on the moon, kids are sure to be amazed on every page. Young readers can learn about the early understanding of gravity, the discovery of dinosaur fossils, the first open heart surgery in human history, and much more.

Created in association with the Smithsonian Institution, Science Year by Year will fascinate kids as they go on an amazing journey through time, tracing key moments in the history of science and technology along the way.

My Thoughts

Once again I am amazed at the quality of books that DK produces.  This book contains information about  science through the ages and it can be a fabulous companion to either your science lessons or your history lessons.

The table of contents is divide in eras:

  • 3 MYA – 800 CE Before Science Began
  • 800 - 1545 New Ideas
  • 1545 – 1790 The age of discovery
  • 1790 – 1895 Revolutions
  • 1895 – 1945 The atomic age
  • 1945 – present day Modern Science

Through the pages of this book, you will follow a timeline which highlights the scientific discoveries or inventions made as time goes by.   This timeline is strategically located approximately at the middle of the pages.  From this timeline, a line will either go upward or downward  and will highlight a scientific development from the time period where you are located in the book.

91IbOXF9j5LA10pPKCTXVL

91 4qJllF9L91hpOpkhNbL

Also you will find some pages that will give you more detail on a specific subject like ancient architecture, Aristotle, anatomy, Medieval medicine, Leonardo da Vince,measuring things, travelling the world, studying fossils, calculating machine, periodic table, space race and robotics – to name only a few of them.  In these pages you will be able to glean much information on the subject covered.  For example, in the healing people pages, you can see an otoscope which was used for looking inside the ear back in 1890.  A specific timeline is also included that gives me the various physicians who helped improving the care of patients through history.

The pages of this book does not only contain text.  You will find numerous photos, images, drawing, and so on to help you better visualize the information that you are reading.   For example, as I was exploring the book, I stumble on a discovery made in 1781 called the leap frog.  Apparently an Italian scientist Luigi Galvani connected the exposed nerves of a dead frog to a metal wire during a thunderstorm.  The legs twitched with every flash of lightning…  This experiment became a key step in understanding electricity, and inspired the novel Frankenstein.  Images illustrate the experiment and I find it interesting how this scientist came to this discovery.  

At the end of the book, you will also find some interesting reference pages on biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, space and who’s who.  It is always useful to have quick reference cheat pages at the tip of your fingers.

The book is definitively a great resources to have at home.  It could help the kids (and the parents) to learn a few things during the summer when the weather is not so great to spend time outdoors or to keep them busy with practicing their reading on a subject or era of time during the school year.  

DK Smithsonian Science Year by Year is available for purchase at your favorite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy Dancing Groot

We loved Guardians of the Galaxy so much that we made sure that we would be in the theater when the 2nd movie would come out.   And let me tell you that everyone in the family enjoyed the movie very much.  

imageSo when I saw that Hasbro had a dancing Groot I approached them to see if I could review it and they graciously send one my way.

This dancing Groot will bring the music of Guardians of the Galaxy live with his limb-shaking as well as its sound detecting features.   Dancing Groot is about 11.5 inches tall once you put him on the floor or a sturdy table.   He will play a clip from the Gardians of the Galaxy Volume 2 soundtrack and when the music starts Groot will immediately goes on dancing.   Now dancing here is more like shaking the trunk as well as his branches (aka arms) while turning slowly on itself. As amusing it is at first, the music will die at some point and Groot will stop moving.

However, there is an added touch to this Dancing Groot.  He can dance along with you music from your phone, table, or other device.  How?   When you will have to press and hold the leave on its leg for for about 15 seconds.   The figure will automatically enter in music detection mode.  This means that when Groot detects musci, he will dans until the music is no longer detected. 

Its head and arms are poseable but the legs are pretty stuck in the same place. However,  be aware that this figure may cause boogie fever in your own body.  This will translate in a funny dance with Groot.

I think Dancing Groot is adorable for people of all ages but more specifically to the big fans of Groot everywhere.  

The Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy Dancing Groot toy is available for purchase at your favorite toy store, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to Hasbro Canada for sending me the above mentioned products for review purposes . I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

hasbro

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Westcott 8 inch x-ray scissor

Recently I have received a Westcott x-ray scissors to review from Amazon Vine Voices.  This handy-dandy pair of scissors contain antimicrobial protection which would stop the growth of bacteria and odors.  This would prevent having microorganisms degrading on the scissors. IMG_9577

Mind you there is no way really to review this claim from the fabricant.   I am not a chemist so for me it would be hard to review this.   But I can say that the scissors are very handy to have whether in the kitchen, at camp, or on a boat.  They are only 8 inches long so they won’t take IMG_9576much place and they possess stainless steel blades that are very sharp. 

I am using these scissors in the kitchen to cut anything that I need to open like a bag of milk and so on.  However, I make sure that I always rinse them or wash them depending of the use.  

The handles are very comfortable and can be used by left or right hand users.  The only little disappointment I have for these scissors is that the screw rusted a bit after the first wash in the dishwashers.  This tells me that they have not used a stainless steel screw for holding the blades.

 IMG_9578

Still the scissors are handy and could be use anywhere you want.


The Wescott X-Ray Scissors are available on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy

61dhMn-W-fLMarvel Guardians of the Galaxy – The Ultimate Guide to the Cosmic Outlaws
Published at DK Canada

About the book

Find out everything you need to know about the heroic team of cosmic adventurers with Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy: The Ultimate Guide to the Cosmic Outlaws.

This comprehensive guide celebrates the exciting world of Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy, with a decade-by-decade history that charts all the incarnations of the group. The book examines iconic characters like Groot and Star-Lord, showcases key comic book issues, and explores important storylines. Packed with information on allies, enemies, locations, and much more, this book is a must-have for fans of Marvel comics.

Our thoughts

Since we knew that a second Guardians of the Galaxy was being made, we were waiting “patiently” for it.  We have loved the first one and enjoyed discovering the characters of Guardians of the Galaxy.  So you can imagine that we were there on opening day when Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 came out in theater.  We took our regular routine off for the day and brought our four kids with us to see this long awaited movie.  And let me tell you that we were not disappointed with it.  It was as good if not better than the first one.

So when I saw the ultimate guide on the Guardians of the Galaxy published at DK Canada, I knew that it would be a popular book to read in my household.   I requested the book immediately to review and when it arrived it literally flew out of my hands….  My kids grabbed it and hid in their rooms to read through the pages of it.   I literally had to request it back so I could write my review…..   Because if not I might have forgotten to write my review.

This book will highlight ALL you ever wanted to know about the Guardians of the Galaxy from the 31st century and more.    Numerous characters of all the different series of comic ever been published of the Guardians are presented through the pages of this book whether hero or villain.  

91oqWzq3IHL91qyP lgR7L

A1DEZ1jkJvLA1Ih6cGwKuL

Needless to say this book is popular in my  household.   There is so much information in it about the Guardians of the Galaxy that you could almost create a trivia game on them just for fun.   What I particularly like is the fact that this book is interesting for my kids even the one who is more reluctant in reading.    When it comes to reading, I find that if the subject of a book is interesting for a person (adult or child), this person won’t have any issues in reading it.   And this is exactly what the various titles of ultimate guide books that DK offers to fans of all sorts.  As you might have imagine the comic heroes books are popular for us but they have other books on many other subjects that could be interesting for anyone.

Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy is available for purchase at your favourite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.