Thursday, June 15, 2017

Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy

61dhMn-W-fLMarvel Guardians of the Galaxy – The Ultimate Guide to the Cosmic Outlaws
Published at DK Canada

About the book

Find out everything you need to know about the heroic team of cosmic adventurers with Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy: The Ultimate Guide to the Cosmic Outlaws.

This comprehensive guide celebrates the exciting world of Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy, with a decade-by-decade history that charts all the incarnations of the group. The book examines iconic characters like Groot and Star-Lord, showcases key comic book issues, and explores important storylines. Packed with information on allies, enemies, locations, and much more, this book is a must-have for fans of Marvel comics.

Our thoughts

Since we knew that a second Guardians of the Galaxy was being made, we were waiting “patiently” for it.  We have loved the first one and enjoyed discovering the characters of Guardians of the Galaxy.  So you can imagine that we were there on opening day when Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 came out in theater.  We took our regular routine off for the day and brought our four kids with us to see this long awaited movie.  And let me tell you that we were not disappointed with it.  It was as good if not better than the first one.

So when I saw the ultimate guide on the Guardians of the Galaxy published at DK Canada, I knew that it would be a popular book to read in my household.   I requested the book immediately to review and when it arrived it literally flew out of my hands….  My kids grabbed it and hid in their rooms to read through the pages of it.   I literally had to request it back so I could write my review…..   Because if not I might have forgotten to write my review.

This book will highlight ALL you ever wanted to know about the Guardians of the Galaxy from the 31st century and more.    Numerous characters of all the different series of comic ever been published of the Guardians are presented through the pages of this book whether hero or villain.  

91oqWzq3IHL91qyP lgR7L

A1DEZ1jkJvLA1Ih6cGwKuL

Needless to say this book is popular in my  household.   There is so much information in it about the Guardians of the Galaxy that you could almost create a trivia game on them just for fun.   What I particularly like is the fact that this book is interesting for my kids even the one who is more reluctant in reading.    When it comes to reading, I find that if the subject of a book is interesting for a person (adult or child), this person won’t have any issues in reading it.   And this is exactly what the various titles of ultimate guide books that DK offers to fans of all sorts.  As you might have imagine the comic heroes books are popular for us but they have other books on many other subjects that could be interesting for anyone.

Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy is available for purchase at your favourite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Pulse Revolution

61qYItE5GRLPulse Revolution
Published at DK Canada

About the book

With 150 delicious recipes, you can revolutionize your diet with pulses, the powerful plant-based proteins that are full of heart-healthy benefits.

Discover the power of pulses—lentils, dry peas, beans, and chickpeas—and draw on culinary traditions from around the world to create healthy meals. The 150 vegetarian recipes are nutritious and satisfying, and have flexible options for vegans and meat-eaters.

Try a meat-based twist on the White Bean Coconut Curry, flex the Red Lentil Lasagna for vegan diets, or whip up a batch of Black Bean Brownies that anybody will enjoy. Pulse Revolution has something to offer everyone, from meat-loving omnivores to dairy-free vegans. The book includes:

   • 150 vegetarian recipes flexed to more than 400 ideas with their vegan and meat-based variations.
   • Clear photos of many of the final meals.
   • Pulse profiles that highlight the preparation, cooking, and nutrition of each pulse featured in the book.
   • A "Pulse Exchange" feature that gives readers flexible pulse swaps they can use in recipes.
   • Wide selection of dishes from breakfast to dinner plus desserts.
   • Innovative recipes from around the world support the UN's 2016 International Year of Pulses.

Our thoughts

The main reason why I decided to review this book is because we know people who are vegetarian/vegan and we wanted to have them over for supper.   When I received the book I was a bit overwhelmed because I desired so much to make a good meal for them.   But we are not vegetarian and we decided to find something that would be good for both vegan and non-vegan foodie.   We went with tacos – chicken for some of us and beans for others.   I based my beans tacos on the recipe of spiced lentil tacos.

91Avybrt81L91Bdv-t50DL

91Eo9Aj1bhL91FeySpd4pL

This cookbook will unlock the mystery of vegetarian or vegan cooking.   It will provide you all the guidelines to cook a fabulous vegetarian or vegan meal to your guests or yourself.

The book will provide plenty of information on how to prepare vegetarian/vegan meals, what kind of beans to use and so on.  It will introduce you to all the lentils, beans, chickpeas, peas, and flours that can be use to cook these meals.   It contains numerous recipes for a wide variety of meals like breakfasts, brunch, snacks, spreads, soups, stews, salads, sides, patties, tacos, sandwiches, braises, curries, bakes dishes, casseroles, and desserts.   Each recipes also has the nutritional value of the meal.  You will also find numerous photos throughout the book which presents some of the recipes in it. 

This book is perfect for creating delicious meals for your friends and family who have decided to follow the vegetarian/vegan way of life.  It would also be a great book for you if you desire to eat more vegetarian or vegan. 

And in case you are wondering our meal was delicious – beans and chicken tacos.    As for me I would lie to try out the black beans brownies sometime soon since they look so delicious!

Pulse Revolution is available for purchase at your favourite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com. 

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Philips Viva Airfryer with Turbostar

A few years ago, I won the prize of the first ever Pinterest contest at a store in town.  With the money, I was able to purchase a T-Fal Actifry.  This purchase introduced us to the joy of airfrying.   However, after many years of usage our machine broke and we had not had the time to replace it yet when the opportunity to review the Philips Viva Airfryer on Amazon Vine Voices showed up.  Without hesitation, I decided to select this item to review.  We were just starting to miss our old airfryer and were debating if we should get another one or not.IMG_9435

The Philips Viva Airfryer allows the hot air to circulates with speed and precision all around the item you want to cook.   The airfryer itself is built in such a way that you can include a double layer rack in order to maximize the cooking surface.   This specific model is quite small and enables you to cooke approximately 800 gr. of food.

The beauty of an airfryer in a home is that you can use little to no oil in your cooking.   The food is cooked evenly and the taste is absolutely sublime.

The first item we decided to cook were chicken thighs (with bones).   However, So I places three thighs at the bottom and inserted the rack to put the three other ones.   It was all you could insert in it.

IMG_9434

The cooking was not as evenly as I would have liked that first time.  We suspect that it was because of how the chicken thighs were placed in the airfryer.   Three of them were stunning and crunching while the other ones were cooked but not as golden looking as the ones that were on the top.

IMG_9438

Note that we made the same kind of chicken another time but instead of placing it with the rack, we decided to put the pieces of chicken sideways.  And as expected the chicken thighs were beautiful cooked all six of them.  Success!

A few days later we made french fries with the airfryer.  They were delicious!

IMG_9441

Searching for more information on the Philips Airfryer, I have discovered that a bigger model (the XL) do exists in the US but it is not available in Canada yet.  Being a family of six people, we would prefer to have more possibilities with the Airfryer which means a bigger model.  However, we can easily make enough french fries, chicken and even shrimps for everyone at the table.  Worse case scenario if we have guests we can also do two batches of cooking.   Planning will be the key of success in that case.

The Philips AirFryer comes also with a recipe booklet.  Many more recipes can be found online as well.

Our experience with the Philips Airfryer is very positive.  This product is fabulous and I really like it better than the one we had before hand for various reasons.  But the main reason would be how easy it is to clean it up when you are done.  

The Philips Viva Airfryer with Turbostar, Double Layer Rack, Black, HD9622/96 is available for purchase on amazon.ca.

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Friday, May 26, 2017

Philips Avance Pasta Maker with Integrated Scale

I’ve always wanted to make my own pasta but the process seemed a bit too much for me – lots of time and patience was needed.   Even when my husband got me a KitchenAid mixer which also has attchments to make pasta I decided against it.image

So imagine my delight when I saw the Philips Avance Pasta Maker available for review on Amazon Vine Voices. I did not hesitate one second and decided to take the opportunity to review this kitchen appliance.

While waiting for the delivery, I proceeded to look at some videos on how to use it.  The more I watched, the more I was getting excited.  I mean this machine was looking absolutely perfect in many ways.  Not only could you decide the type of flour you will use but you could also be original in the liquid to incorporate as well.   Want orange pasta?  Use carrot juice.  Want green pasta?  Use spinach juice. Want pink pasta?  Use bee t juice.   You could even obtain black pasta with squid ink.  You can incorporate spices to make your pasta more interesting.    And in 15 minutes you will get a plate full of delicious pasta for your family.

The HR2358/05 model possess an auto-weighting which weighs the flour and indicates the correct amount of liquid for the perfect texture.   The model also comes with eight shaping discs to make spaghetti, fettucini, penne, lasagna, angel hair, thick spaghetti, tagliatelly and pappardelle.   You will also found in the box a flat scrapping and cleaning tool, a flour cup and water cup as well as a free recipe book with over twenty different recipes to make.

The process is quite easy to follow.  Plug your machine and decide the type of pasta you want to make (basically you choose between regular pasta or egg pasta).  We decided to make egg pasta.  Pour the flour in the machine, close the lid and the machine will indicate how much liquid you need to incorporate.  Note that the liquid cup already contains two eggs because we were doing a double recipe for our family of six.   The book indicates that a double recipe would be enough pasta for 3-4 main meal or 8-10 side dish.  Seeing we are a family of six, I was wondering if I needed to make a double recipe followed by a single recipe.  We decided to stick with only a double recipe.

IMG_2784

Once the machine starts, you will have to pour the liquid slowly in order for the pasta to mix equally.

IMG_2785

Then for about 2-3 minutes the machine will mix the flour with the liquid. 

IMG_2786

Once that time has passed, the pasta already comes out.  We have selected the spaghetti disc for our lunch.

IMG_2787

Every once in a while you take the pasta in your hand and proceeded to cut it using the scraping/cleaning tool.  It is so easy to do that my nine years old daughter could do it.

IMG_2790 IMG_2791

Once the bulk of the dough has gone through the disc, the pasta maker will reverse in order to collect the leftover dough and then proceed to push the dough back in to make more pasta.  This happened twice in the 15 minutes it took to make the pasta.

And seriously, we had enough pasta for the whole family.   All we needed to do now was to boil the pasta in hot water.   It took about 4-5 minutes to boil it.

IMG_2793

Lunch was super delicious too!   We knew exactly what was in the pasta we made and it was quick to do.

IMG_2794

The fact that we can choose the type of flour, the ingredients as well as the liquid makes the Philips Pasta Maker a versatile kitchen appliance. Here’s another advantage to own the Philips Avance Pasta Maker – you can make cookies too!   You can purchase two extra discs which will allow you to make low fat healthy cookies for your family.

image

This machine is definitively a keeper in our family.   Everyone really like the texture and the taste of the pasta it made and the process was very easy to do.  To top it off, the pasta made with this machine can be store in ziploc bags and put in the freezer for future use.   This is definitively an huge bonus for our family.   We plan to make pasta in advance and freeze it.   My oldest kids also plan to make pasta for a challenge at youth called Master Chef.   Having fresh pasta for a meal they cook during a youth night that will be judge by the leaders would definitively give them an advantage.   

The Philips Pasta Maker is a great gift for a wedding, a birthday, or Christmas. 

The Philips Avance Pasta Maker with Integrated Scale is available for purchase at amazon.ca.

 

You can also get a model without the scale too!

 

And do not forget the extra discs for the cookies.

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Oral-B Power Genius 8000 Electric Rechargeable Toothbrush

I always contemplated the electronic toothbrush but never could justify the price tag on them.   However, Amazon Vine Voices had the Oral-B Genius 8000 recently on the products offered and I decided to take the plunge in order to try it out.  Oh. My. Word.   The first time I tried the toothbrush my teeth felt so clean that I had the impression I just came back from the dentist – the feeling of having the teeth no so clean after spending time in brushing them was gone.  My teeth would squeak of joy if I passed my finger quickly on them. I am not kidding you that was how clean the teeth were.IMG_2783

This rechargeable toothbrush comes with a charger, 3 brush heads, a refill stand, a travel case, and a smartphone holder.  Wait what?  A smartphone holder?  But why?   That’s the beauty of this specific model because the toothbrush is bluetooth smart and will connect to your phone using the Oral-B app.  This app will monitor daily your habits and personalize the brushing routines.   The app will allow you to brush every area of the right amount of time so that you do not miss a zone.   Literally, you will brush for over 2 minutes without realizing it.   And your teeth will be sparkly clean in the process.

Also the app will allow you to customize the multifunctional 360 degrees smartring by modifying the color of it.   In all, you will be able to choose your favorite color from twelve choices.

Throughout your brushing, the toothbrush will also provide feedback on your brushing habits and you can implement your dentist’s recommendation via a customizable brushing plan too.    The brush itself rotates, oscillates and pulsates in order to break and remove the plaque that a regular toothbrush would not be able to do.  

The toothbrush offers numerous modes of cleaning as well: daily clean, gum care, sensitive, whitening, pro-clean, and tongue cleaning.  You are really taken care of when using the Oral-B Genius 8000.

The smart travel case will charge you brush as well as your smartphone with 1 plug.  Which is ideal for people who limits their luggage when on a trip.

Though I adore this toothbrush, there is one thing I would like to change in the app/toothbrush connectivity.   I think it would be fabulous to be able to track two people instead of just one.   My husband takes the sensitive teeth brush and I take one of the other ones.  However, when connecting on the app, it downloads all the tracking from the toothbrush – which is two people in our case.   I think it would be fabulous to be able to differentiate who’s who…

If you have been considering getting an electric toothbrush, I would like to suggest that you consider the Oral-B Genius 8000 because it will give you the best cleaning that you ever had in ages for your teeth. 

The Oral-B Power Genius 8000 Electric Rechargeable Toothbrush is available for purchase on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Philips AVENT uGrow Smart Ear Thermometer

Last week, I have received a Philips AVENT uGrow Smart Ear Thermometer from Amazon VineVoices to review.   Contrary to what the title of the thermometer might suggest, it is not specifically designed only for babies and children.   You can use it for teens and adults as well.

One of the main reason why I decided to review this ear thermometer is because it was much smaller than the one we had purchase back in the days when our oldest son was a baby.  He is turning 16 in a month and I can hardly believe how time flies.   As you can see the new Philips AVENT uGrow Smart Ear Thermometer fits nicely in our hand.  It won’t take any place in your purse or bag when you travel.

IMG_9424

The second main reason why I picked it is the fact that you can link your ear thermometer to an app on your phone in order to track the temperature of your child.  Why to this?  So that you can share the information when going to the doctor or the emergency if the temperature stays elevated for a long period of time.  I find that this function alone will give piece of mind to parents with children of all ages.

497e2d3d-b6c5-45a9-9d37-8fc5f18cbeda._SR285,285_

The use of it is very easy – simply put the thermometer in the ear and press the button.  You can switch from Fahrenheit to Celsius rapidly if you prefer one specific measurement.   Personally, I am still on the Fahrenheit measurement because I grew up with it.   I suppose I should try to adapt myself and turn to Celsius…

I think that any parents should own an ear thermometer because it is the easiest way to take the temperature on a child.   This specific model would make a great gift for a baby shower.

The Philips AVENT uGrow Smart Ear Thermometer is available for purchase at amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

CorLiving TSL-303-T Santa Lana Black Matte TV Stand

Recently I had the privilege to receive the CorLiving Santa Lana Black Matte TV Stand through Amazon Vine Voices.   We literally debated about selecting this item because we didn’t thought we had a place for it.   But my mother-in-law, in all her wisdom, suggested that we use it for the basement area and honestly we hadn’t thought of that part of the house.   The kids go there to play video games together or to watch their math lessons when someone else is on the television upstairs and that’s about it.   But come to think of it, the idea made perfectly sense because we did not have anything per say IMG_9416to put the dvd player, the Wii and the antique Atari console on it.  

Let me tell you that the box in which the item arrive was long and very heavy.   But once we brought it downstairs it was just a matter of a couple of weeks before we had time to put it together.  

This TV stand will accommodate a television up to 70 inches.   Our television is anchored on the wall so we didn’t have to put it on the stand.  Three shelves made of tempered glass are included.   As you can see we have decided to put our devices on the top one and the games on the second shelf.  We will also put the controls next to these.

The building of the TV stand is easy to do.  The instructions were clear and my 13 years old son was able to built by himself.  It took him about 1 hour to complete the task but already the TV stand look stunning in the basement.  And to make it even more interesting is that area of our basement is now well organized. 

If you are looking for a great TV stand for your living room or your basement, I think that the CorLiving TSL-303_T Santa Lana Black Matte TV Stand would be a great choice.

The CorLiving TSL-303-T Santa Lana Black Matte TV Stand is available for purchase directly from amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Smithsonian The Elements Book

ElementsSmithsonian The Elements Book – A Visual Encyclopedia of the Periodic Table
Published at DK Canada

About the book

Kids can go on a visual tour of the 118 chemical elements of the periodic table, from argon to zinc, in this one awesome volume packed with incredible images and fascinating facts.

Cataloged by type, each element's properties and atomic structure is explained. More than 1,000 full-color photographs showcase the natural forms of each element, as well as a wide range of unexpected everyday objects in which it is found, to make them relevant to a child's world. How does a motorcycle utilize nitrogen? Which element can absorb harmful chemicals in water? Which famous landmark is made of copper? From hydrogen to sodium to nickel, kids will learn fun facts and be amazed.

My Thoughts

As our homeschool year is wrapping up slowly but surely, you cannot help to start planning for the next year – especially if you attended a homeschool conference in the previous month.   Our homeschool coop has been in planning mode for quite some time because some moms are writing the units we will cover during the year.  One of these units will be “Introduction to Chemistry” for kids ages 9-15.  I have three kids participating in that group age and honestly I am excited about introducing them to the world of chemistry (even though I struggle in that subject in high school).  

One of my goal in our homeschool is to provide amazing books for them to explore ahead of the units in coop.  Sometimes these books are historical novels that we read together, other times it is books that will provide information on a specific subject- like the one today!   The Elements Book is essentially a visual encyclopedia of the periodic table.   What I mean by this is that for each element found in the periodic table (known at the time of printing this book), you will be visualize the form and uses of the element as well as discover its position in the period table.

0742e6e9aace42af8eca4a12837e254c182042c9ab4b468b86877e255e35d111dcf747287f0c4af69f9e57235ff854bd

Through the pages of this book, you will be amaze of how certain elements are used in life today.  For example, let’s take potassium.  Did you know that it was first found in the dust of burnt plant by Sir Humphry Davy?  Potassium can be found in bananas, root vegetables, and avocados.   But potassium is found in fertilizer, carbonated water, saline drip, gunpowder, liquid soap and even a rebreather which is a machine used by expert divers so they can stay underwater for long period of times.

This book is definitively a great reference to go to when you want to learn more about the elements of the periodic table.

Smithsonian The Elements Book is available for purchase at your favorite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Monday, May 15, 2017

The Bible Explorer’s Guide

_240_360_Book.2259.coverThe Bible Explorer’s Guide
Published at ZonderKids

About the book

The Bible Explorer’s Guide lets children come up close and personal with everyday life during Bible times through photos, maps, and illustrations illuminating, people, places, objects, and buildings of the Bible. What did Noah’s Ark really look like? Who was David and whom did he fight? How did 1st century citizens of Jerusalem live? Each two-page spread is filled with images that bring history alive and drawings that help bring life to people and places that we can only read about. With fascinating, brief text and full-color captivating images, this is a reference that kids will come back to again and again. A great addition to any home or school library.

My Thoughts

It is always nice to find a book that will help your kids to visualize the Bible from cover to cover.  The Bible Explorer’s Guide is exactly that book… With over 1000 facts and photos within the pages of this book, your kids can visit and explore the history written in the Bible from the comfort of your home.  At the end of the book you will also find a timeline as well as a glossary of who’s who in the Old Testament and the New Testament.

The pages are packed with information on various time during the historical events mentioned in the Bible.   It is refreshing to see images of the area today mixed with maps, painting, drawing as well as models of what places looked like during the biblical times.

imageimageimage

The book is definitively a great resource to own in your personal library where you can use it for research, reading or to supplement your Bible curriculum.   Churches could also use it for Sunday school or Awana program.      Personally, it makes me want to go on one of those trips where you go visit biblical places with a group.  Maybe one day I will be able to do so… in the meantime, I will enjoy explore history through the pages of this book.

The Bible Explorer’s Guide is available for purchase at your favorite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to Thomas Nelson for sending me the above mentioned product for review purposes . I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Ziploc Space Bag

 

imageI recently received a box of Ziploc Space Bag to review from Amazon Vine Voices.   This specific box contains 2 medium flats, 2 large flats, 1 extra large flat and 1 suitcase bag.

When you open the box you will get the bag neatly folded inside.   Out of the six bags included in the box, five of them possess a vacuum valve in order to remove the air from it.  The suitcase bag possess a one-way valve which you will use to roll the air out of the bag.   Instructions are clearly indicated on each of the bags.  The flat bags will allow you to expand your storage area by 3 times while the suitcase bag will provide 2x the storage.

IMG_9304IMG_9305

So for the purpose of this review I have decided to test the suitcase bag.  My goal this morning is to “shrink” the size of this quilt to see if I can bring it to a retreat early June.

IMG_9309

It took me seconds to put the quilt in the Ziploc Space Bag for travel.

IMG_9310

Then I pressed on it to remove the air out of it.   It was easy to do and the air quickly left the bag.  However, I felt there was not enough air remove from it yet.

IMG_9311

So I decided to fold the bag in two and proceed to press on it in order to remove even more air.   And voilà!  The quilt is at a size that I would have no issues to insert in a carry-on for the retreat.

IMG_9312

Needless to say that I am very pleased with the Ziploc Space Bag (suitcase bag).    In fact I am so impressed that I would highly recommend them for storage at home or for travels.  The travel bag is so easy to use that you can pack in smaller suitcases when going on a trip or mission trip.   It is very useful in my point of view.  It is well worth the investment.

As for the other bags that are included in the box, I am planning to use them in order to reduce the space taken in the cedar chests that we have at home.  Numerous quilts and other items will take less space in the trunks.

The Ziploc Space Bag – 6 Bag Variety is available for purchase at your favourite store, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Sony MDRXB950B1 Extra Bass Wireless Headphones

Recently, I have received new headphone to test – the MDRXB950B1 Extra Bass Wireless by Sony.   image

These headphones provide high quality sound when listening to music or a television show on Netflix.  The extra bass will enhance all the low-end frequencies for deep power on every track.

Let me list for you the things that I really like about these headphones. 

  • The battery life will last you for 18 hours which is very nice.  Charging it is quick too though it will take about 4 hours or so to do it.  
  • The headphones possess a special button at the bottom of one side for the extra bass.  Having the ability to put the extra bass or remove it depending on how you feel is a nice touch.  Personally, I am not seeing the difference but my two teenagers told me without a doubt that the bass was more predominant when the button is pressed. Mind you I know that I have issues with low frequencies sound so that might explain why I cannot make a difference.
  • These headphones are wireless and gives you freedom to move around without having to carry your device with you.  
  • The hand-free calling and the voice assist function permit you to answer phone calls or to use Siri without taking your device our of your pocket or purse.
  • The extra cable which allow you to use the headphone wired instead of wireless.   Great option for people who prefer to have it wired.
  • Very visual instructions that are easy to understand.  
  • The ability of controlling the sound level on the headphones.

image

The major disappointment for me came when I started wearing these for an hour or so.   The earpad is very soft but I find the circumference a bit smaller than the other Sony headset that I have.   Consequently, when a woman who wear earrings that have butterflies in the back after a little while the back of the earrings will press in the back of your ear and cause a bit of pain because the sharp part of the earring is sticky out.   If the circumference would have been slightly bigger this wouldn’t be a problem.  

Another thing that could be annoying for some people is the fact that the headphone will tell you when it is on and when it is connected.  Personally I didn’t mind it but one of my teenagers said that it was annoying to hear it every time you press on the start button and it connects to the device. 

This model comes in three color – Black, Red or Blue – what ever the style you have.   I have received the black one but there is a touch of red on it which I really like.

These headphones are particularly made for the following devices: iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 7, iPhone SE, iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone 6s, iPhone 6 Plus, iPhone 6, iPhone 5S, iPhone 5c, iPhone 5, iPod Touch (6th generation).  However, I have an iPad mini 2 and it worked fine with it as well.   Something that I find funny is that the app Headphones Connect is listed for iOS and Android.   So I suspect that the headphones could be used for other types of devices.  Also note that I didn’t have to download the app to be able to connect the headphones to my device.  

In all, these headphones are fabulous and can make a great gift for a teenager who enjoy more bass in music.   When you purchase Sony, you can be certain that there will be quality in the product.   There is only slight disappointment for me when it comes to wearing earrings and have these headphones on.   I suppose that will time maybe you won’t feel the back of the earrings anymore and some people are less sensitive than others.   These headphones are definitively great if you are looking at getting some wireless ones.   You won’t be disappointed.

The Sony MDRXB950B1 Extra Bass Wireless Headphones are available for purchase at your favorite store, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

 

 

Disclaimer: This product has been provided courtesy of Amazon.ca Vine Voices for review purpose. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by Amazon.ca or the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Resurrection of Gavin Stone DVD

imageThe Resurrection of Gavin Stone

About the movie

The Resurrection of Gavin Stone is an inspirational comedy rated PG about faith and forgiveness. Gavin Stone, a washed-up former child star is forced to do community service at a local mega- church and pretends to be a Christian so he can land the part of Jesus in their annual Passion Play only to discover that the most important role of his life is far from Hollywood.

Our Thoughts

When my kids saw the image of the poster their first reaction was “Hey Mom, this is Ward!”    You have to know that we are listening to Marvel Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. to know who Ward is.  But yes the main actor that plays Gavin Stone in this movie is indeed Brett Dalton.

The movie start a bit differently that most movies out there.  It was a bit confusing at first but the story unfold itself before you as you watch it.   It is slow to start we have found but with time you can see that the actors are getting more comfortable with each other.  

Gavin Stone has hit rock bottom and he is required to do some community time at a church in his hometown.   At first he doesn’t want to but realizing that his only option would be to stay in prison he reluctantly agrees to the deal.  He will also have to stay with his father with whom he has cut the communication for such a long time.

While starting to do his hours at a church in town, he realizes that they are putting a play.  He expresses a desire to be part of it seeing that he has experience – going to the point that he will “fake” being a Christian.  However, what he has not realized is that slowly but surely he will realize that these people are authentic.  He will discover what it is to live as a Christian with his interactions of a variety of characters.  After meeting the lady in charge of the play, he expresses a desire to get to know her better.  At first she is hesitant in opening up to him but eventually a spark seems to melt her resistance.   However, when it is almost time for the play to be on stage, Gavin Stone received a phone call that will  change everything.  Will it be for the better or for the worse?   I won’t tell you because then I would give away the best part of the movie.

Watching this movie was relaxing.  My husband and I started to watch it on Good Friday when our boys were at a youth rally in town.   We enjoyed it and thought that our kids could also watch it.  So as I am writing this, my three boys and my girl are watchin the Resurrection of Gavin Stone together in the living room.  They laughed a few times so far too.    The movie is a faith-based movie so you will have references from the bible and the play is based on the life of Christ.   Seeing the play was also inspiring I find because it was a great way to visualize the life of Christ.  

The movie is rated PG and anyone in your family could watch it.  You can rest assure that there will be no sex, no nudity, no violence, and no profanity either.  

If you are looking for a family movie that will be inspirational, I think this movie should be one to consider.  However, do not expect bit production like the movies released in theaters that had an enormous budget.  Keep in mind that this movie was made with a budget of 2,000,000$ and was filmed in 20 days.  The movie is about 92 minutes long.

The Resurrection of Gavin Stone will be out in DVD soon so watch the DVD aisle at your favorite store.  You can also pre-order it on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: The link to the movie has been provided courtesy of Mongrel Media and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Monday, April 17, 2017

Oh, Yikes! History’s Grossest, Wackiest Moments

9780761136842Oh, Yikes! History Grossest, Wackiest Moments
By Joy Masoff
Published at Workman

About the book

Gross is back and viler than ever! From the author of Oh, Yuck! the perennial bestseller about science with over 610,000 copies in print, comes OH, YIKES!, an illustrated encyclopedia of history’s messiest, dumbest, grossest, wackiest, and weirdest moments.

If kids think pus and gas are fun, wait until they hear the lowdown on the real Dracula, samurai, gladiators, guillotines and vomitoriums, pirates, Vikings, witch trials, and the world’s poxiest plagues. Impeccably researched, deliciously wry, and subversively educational (check out the toilet-paper timeline), OH, YIKES! covers people, events, institutions, and really bad ideas, alphabetically from April Fool’s Day to zany Zoos. Here are the Aztecs, sacrificing 250,000 people a year for the gods—and for food. Fearsome Attila the Hun, scourge of the steppes whose spinning eyes terrified his friends and whose mastery of horses terrorized his enemies (how does someone so evil die? Nosebleed!). Saur, the 11th-century dog-king of Norway (and not too bad as kings go). Henry VIII and his marital problems, the story of the Abominable Snowman and the Loch Ness Monster, why sailors in the old days preferred eating in the dark (hint: you can’t see what’s crawling in your food), and the answer to the question, “How did knights in armor go to the bathroom?”

Topped off with hundreds of illustrations and photographs along with hands-on activities that bring the past to life, OH, YIKES! puts the juice in history in a way that makes it irresistible.

My Thoughts

We have reviewed OH, Ick! in the past and I was highly interested when I realized that this new title was all about history.

This book is different than other history book because it will highlight the worst inventions and events that has happened through the ages.  So as the title suggest it, it will be gross at times but so informative as well.

The various chapters or themes covered in the book are: Attila and the Huns, Aztec Antics, Beastly Babyhood, Burial Customs, Cave Dudes, Circus Clowning, Crafty Cats, Crazy Calendars, Creepy Columbus, Cruel Constructions, Cussin’ Cowboys, Dastardly Dentistry, Dog-Gone Dogs, Dreadful Dracula, Dumb Duels, Electric Shocks, Everyday Executions, Farfetched Fashions, Freaky Flyers, Ghastly Games, Gladiators, Guillotines, Heinous Hair, Horrible Henry the 8th, Humongous Hoaxes, Idiotic Inventions, Junky Jobs, Killer Kings, Knight Time, Lewis and Clark, Miserable Medicines, Moldy Money, Musty Mummies, Nutty Napoleon, Oozy Olympics, Outrageous Outlaws, Pirates, Plagues and Poxes, Prickly Presidents, Prisons and Punishments, Quirky Queens, Rip-Roarin’ Railroads, Salt Assault, Samurai and Shoguns, School Dazed, Sinking Ships, Smelly Shoes, Strange Sports, Stupid Superstitions, Tickin’ Time, Toilet Paper, Ugh! Underwear, Vicious Vikings, Wacky Warfare, Whales Tales, Wicked Witches, X-Files, Zany Zoos.

Since we studied Columbus a bit this year, I decided to select the section about him and his time period to tell you a bit about the kind of information you will find in the book.  The section about Columbus will present information about how the food was stored back in these days compared to our beloved refrigerator nowadays.   You will also read a bit about Christopher Columbus’ past when he was young and discover how he decided to become a navigator and explorer.  In all there are five pages covering the history of Columbus (or Cristobal Colon as we learned this year) and how he tried to find a way to obtain spices…

I find this book fun to read because it will present an aspect that is not often shown in other history books – the gross parts of living in different era of time.  It is a fun book to have in your personal library for all the disgusting information in it.  But it is not for the soft stomach person….   The information at times could be revolting but when you think about it…. it happened in history and people lived like that in the past.

Oh, Yikes! is available for purchase at your favorite bookstore, even on amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to Thomas Allen for sending me the above mentioned books for review purposes. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.

Rocket Science for the Rest of Us

e9898ceb74214eaf8756e9b411c79196Rocket Science for the Rest of US
Written by Ben Gilliland
Published at DK

About the book

Want to understand black holes, antimatter, physics, and space exploration? Looking for a common sense guide to quantum physics that you can actually understand? Rocket Science for the Rest of Us is the book you're looking for! Get a grip on even the most mysterious and complex sciences with Ben Gilliland's guide to dark matter, exo-planets, Planck time, earth sciences, and more.

You'll hear yourself saying, "I get it now!" again and again as you explore the fun graphics and clear explanations in Rocket Science for the Rest of Us. Whether you want to impress your friends with your knowledge of quantum physics, finally know what a black hole actually is, or just learn more about the universe that's all around us, Rocket Science for the Rest of Us breaks it all down so science and physics are easy to understand. You're not a rocket scientist? So what! That doesn't mean you can't understand it!

My Thoughts

This book is packed with information about space and more.   It contains fabulous pictures and information that will keep your kids interested in learning more about space.   This book is divided into four main sections:

  • Mysterious Universe: Bottom line you will learn more about the universe, how it expands, and discover more about our solar system.
  • To Boldly Go: Space exploration is covered here.
  • The Appliance of Science: learn more about science like dark matter, gravity, stars, and more.
  • Teeny Tiny, Supersmall Stuff: atoms, neutrons, and all the small science things you can learn about.

40ab68cfb99e46178ce364f31f792a82a46b032838054d48a461e643208ccab1ec84f6b00b74496ca00f108020d250ed

Essentially it is a media reportage on the latest scientific discoveries and breakthroughs concerning space.   But the explanations are easy to understand and your kids will have a grasp about everything concerning space in no time with this book.  It is an excellent resource to have at home when you decide to expand your knowledge about space. 

Rocket Science for the Rest of Us is available for purchase at your favorite bookstore, even amazon.ca and amazon.com.

 

Disclaimer: Thanks to DK Canada for allowing me to promote these books. I was not monetarily compensated for this post . Please note that the post was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way. All opinions expressed here are only my own.