Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Brides of Gallatin County

About the series
Published by Bethany House, this series relates the stories of 3 sisters. After the unexpected death of their father, the three Gallatin sisters—Gwen, Beth, and Lacy—must fashion a life for themselves in the Montana wilds, operating a roadhouse that sits at the crossroads of two stage lines. But the saloon owner in town has his sights on the roadhouse, and an unexpected visitor from the east adds to the chaos. Though each sister hides a secret sorrow, they determine to look to the future with faith and a dose of humor—all to embrace the love they long to claim as their own. In this series by popular and bestselling author Tracie Peterson, adventure and heartwarming romance are sure to delight the reader.

Who is Tracie Peterson?
Tracie Peterson is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than 70 novels. She teaches writing workshops at a variety of conferences on subjects such as inspirational romance and historical research. Tracie and her family live in Belgrade, Montana. Visit

Book One: A Promise to Believe In
This book concentrates more specifically on Gwen. She is the oldest of the sisters and is like a mother for Beth and Lacy. I found that the story was slow to pick up at first but once it was the reading went smooth. Gwen had a head on her shoulders however she has false ideas about what is happening around her. She thinks she is the reason why people close to her die and she believes herself has being cursed. The story unfolds some interesting mysteries and come to a wonderful end.

Book Two: A Love to Last Forever
Beth is the romantic one. She loves to read dime novels and wonders what love really look like. She doesn’t realize that love is right under her nose until you reach about half of the book. The book also has its series of mysteries and events that will rock the like of Beth and those close to her. Beth will discover that even though she can’t control the events in her life, she needs to trust God.

My thoughts on the books
Honestly I’m not a big fan of romance novels but these are set during an era that represents the conquest of the west and it was quite refreshing to read. I was hooked by the Gallatin sisters and their neighbors. They learn to live in the west without a man in the family and to have success in what they do. Their faith is God is strong and they struggle with different “lies” in their head/heart. Gwen thinks she is curse while Beth thinks that she was selfish to be relieved when her dad died under suspicious circumstances. Both come to term with these lies and face the future with joy. The younger sister is the one who can’t seem to find closure after their dad died. She wants to find the person who killed him without looking at the danger around it. Lacy will have her own “adventure” in book three: A Dream to Call My Own. This conclusion of the series will be published in June 2009. I am looking forward for this one to come out so I can know what will happen to Lacy and her objective to find the person who killed her father. Will she be successful? I sure hope so. In the mean time, if you are looking for some refreshing read, consider getting the Brides of Gallatin County and be prepared to be transported to the Wild West.

A promise to Believe In is available at and .
A Love To Last Forever is available at and

No comments:

Post a Comment