Sunday, October 10, 2010

The Thorn

Thorn The Thorn
Written by Beverly Lewis
Published at Bethany House

About the book
Lancaster County, with its rolling meadows and secret byways, may seem idyllic, but it is not without its thorns. The Rose Trilogy is the stirring saga of two Amish sisters, and the events and decisions that change their lives.

Spirited Rose Ann Kauffman has long enjoyed a close friendship with the bishop's rebellious foster son. Rose's older sister, Hen--who knows more than she should about falling for the wrong man--cautions her against him, but Rose is being courted by another, and so dismisses the warnings.

Hen Kauffman Orringer's impulsive marriage to an outsider divided her from the People, a decision she regrets now that she has a daughter of her own. As Hen struggles to reclaim aspects of Amish culture, her very modern husband pushes back, and the two soon come to an impasse. Can she find a way to reconcile her longing for the Old Ways with the life she has chosen? 

Who is Beverly Lewis?
Beverly Lewis, raised in Pennsylvania Amish country, is a former schoolteacher, an accomplished musician, and an award-winning author of more than eighty books for adults and children, many of which have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today and The New York Times. Her novel The Brethren won a 2007 Christy Award for excellence in Christian fiction. Writing memorable stories set in Amish farmland brings Beverly continual joy and inspiration. Her own family heritage is Old Order Mennonite, but she has many dear friends among Amish communities in Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Indiana. Beverly and her husband, David, live in Colorado Springs, Colorado. For more information, visit

My Thoughts
I think I could consider myself a die-hard fan of Beverly Lewis.   I enjoy her Amish novels and love the way she writes.   Her novels not only are well written but mystery often intertwine with love.  And The Thorn which is the first book of The Rose Trilogy is filled with interesting characters and events that affects them.   
You get to love Rose and her family as you read through the book.   You discover their neighbours – the Bishop family – who also adopted a son whom seems to have trouble adjusting to his Amish family.   And then the older sister comes back home in the hope to reconnect with her Amish roots.   Problem is she brought her daughter and left her husband behind.  Then there is the discovery of a young woman living hidden with her father.   

At the end of the book, you wonder what will happen to some of these delightful characters.   What other mysteries does Beverly Lewis has under her sleeve?   A few are already listed in the epilogue but knowing that two other books will complete the trilogy I am certain that she will come up with other mysteries before the series is complete.   I am quite curious and look forward to read the following two books of this trilogy.   Book two is planned to come out in April 2011 and the title would be The Judgment.  

This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

The Thorn is available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group including

No comments:

Post a Comment