Monday, March 8, 2010

Raven's Ladder and Lady Carliss Blog Tour

Raven’s Ladder/Lady Carliss Blog Tour

Published at Waterbrook

Raven’s Ladder
Written by Jeffrey Overstreet

About the book
Following the beacon of Auralia’s colors and the footsteps of a mysterious dream-creature, King Cal-raven has discovered a destination for his weary crowd of refugees. It’s a city only imagined in legendary tales. And it gives him hope to establish New Abascar.

But when Cal-raven is waylaid by fortune hunters, his people become vulnerable to a danger more powerful than the prowling beastmen––House Bel Amica. In this oceanside kingdom of wealth, enchantment, and beauty, deceitful Seers are all too eager to ensnare House Abascar’s wandering throng.

Even worse, the Bel Amicans have discovered Auralia’s colors, and are twisting a language of faith into a lie of corruption and control.

If there is any hope for the people of Abascar, it lies in the courage of Cyndere, daughter of Bel Amica’s queen; the strength of Jordam the beastman; and the fiery gifts of the ale boy, who is devising a rescue for prisoners of the savage Cent Regus beastmen.

As his faith suffers one devastating blow after another, Cal-raven’s journey is a perilous climb from despair to a faint gleam of hope––the vision he sees in Auralia’s colors.

Who is Jeffrey Overstreet?
Jeffrey Overstreet is the author of The Auralia Thread, the fantasy series which begins with Auralia’s Colors, a thrilling adventure twice-nominated for a Christy Award, and Cyndere’s Midnight. He is an award-winning film critic and columnist, his work appearing in many publications including Image and Paste. He is also the contributing editor for Seattle Pacific University’s Response magazine.

My Thoughts
I understand that this is the 3rd book of a series of four. Unfortunately, I have not read the first two books of the series which is a little bit disappointing. Since I am the kind of person who likes to read the previous books before jumping in a serie, I haven’t taken the time to determine if this book can be read as a standalone or not.

However, I can tell you that the author has taken the time to include a map of the Expanse during the days of Abascar’s Exodus (mmmm! It does sound familiar don’t you think?) as well as a guide to the characters of the series. This could help the reader to situate the action if he/she has not read the previous books before.

So for now, I am placing this book on my summer stack as I will reduce the reviews for the camping season. I am looking forward to discover this book and its characters. I think I would enjoy it.

Lady Carliss And The Waters Of Moorue – The Knights of Arrethtrae Book 4
Written by Chuck Black

About the book
Determined, smart and a master of both the sword and the bow, Lady Carliss has proven herself as a veteran Knight of the Prince. Returning from a mission of aid, Carliss is plunged into adventure once again as she searches for the marauders responsible for kidnapping a friends’ family. Along the way she is reunited with Sir Dalton and discovers that the struggle in her heart is far from over. When Dalton falls to the vicious attack of a mysterious, poisonous creature, Carliss finds herself in a race against time. As Dalton clings perilously to life, she must find the antidote in the distant and strange city of Moorue.

While there, Carliss uncovers the master plot of a powerful Shadow Warrior that will soon overtake the entire Kingdom. Her faith in the Prince and her courage as a knight are tested as she faces evil Shadow Warriors and a swamp full of dreadful creatures. The lives of many, including Dalton’s, depend on Carliss. But she cannot save them all, for time is running out. She faces an impossible choice: save Dalton, or let him die so that others may live.

Who is Chuck Black?
Chuck Black, a former F-16 fighter pilot and tactical communications engineer, is the author of ten novels, including the popular Kingdom series. He has received praise from parents across the country for his unique approach to telling biblical truths. His passion in life is to serve the Lord Jesus Christ and to love his wife, Andrea, and their six children. He lives with his family in North Dakota.

My Thoughts
This is the first book I decided to read when I received the package. Why? Simply because I have read the previous book titled Sir Dalton and The Shadow Heart and I had enjoyed it. And I was also curious to know what happened to Lady Carliss which had vanished at the end of the previous book.

Even though this book belongs to a series called The Knights of Arrethrae it can be easily read as a standalone. You will find tons of action and mysteries around the characters in this book. Once again, the reader will be transported in a land where knights have to fight for the Prince and destroy evil in the land.

Lady Carliss possess lots of courage and doesn’t hesitate once second to defend the Followers of the King when they are in trouble even if it means that she might perish. She does all she can to help them and to help a fellow knight who is on his death bed.

This book brings up new and old characters as well as new challenges and hardships. But faith and trust in the one King will bring a positive conclusion in the end.

Both reviews were possible because I received a copy of Raven’s Ladder and Lady Carliss from Waterbrook.

Raven’s Ladder is available at a bookstore near you even at and

Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue is available at a bookstore near you even at and

No comments:

Post a Comment